Learning Python and finally making some shit happen....

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Learning Python and finally making some shit happen....


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

How long until you can replace @abh12345?

At this rate by about 2045.

Posted using Partiko Android

Damn... Looks like I have to keep with Asher...

Thankfully He’s a good lad! Can’t go wrong!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Keep it up! I want to keep learning too - I resteemed this to give myself some motivation!

Hey thanks - it’s been great learning something new!

Figure out how to connect Python up to Steem somehow and extract and viz data, maybe even put up some kind of friendly bot.

That's easier than installing anaconda - never managed the latter.

I’m surprised.... then again this is the windows version, I imagine you’re running a Linux machine or something a bit techy.

I get the feeling doing vizzes would be quite easy.... it’s just cut and paste... I’m more interested in automating stuff tbh. That’ll be a learning curve!

I tried the Windows version first - and failed.
As I was already getting into Linux for mining STEEM (yes), and it was easier to install the steem-python lib, I went for that.

The main thing if you want to automate stuff: You will need a machine to run your scripts on. If you want that machine at home, I found the cheapest and handiest solution is a used lenovo thinkpad laptop. It comes with its own uninterrupted power supply, runs economically and as a server allows you direct terminal access instead of tunneling every time.
On that machine, I would probably choose Linux now, for stability, but Windows would work just fine.

I can see above, that you can already code a loop in Python. That's all you need for a bot, really :)
Chat me up in Discord any time - this is exciting :)

By bizarre coincidence I happen to have an old Lenovo ideapad that's been sitting around for a year now doing nothing, it's 4GB of RAM rendered it useless within a year of my buying it.

Cheers for the offer of assistance, although it might be sometime until I get around to doing anything, I really need to focus on my 'main work' during the day... huge passive income generating potential that I need to get sorted ASAP, then I can focus on enjoying myself messing about with Steem a bit more.

Oh and btw: I usually run Windows, because the hardware drivers are easy to find this way. I then layer a virtual machine with the OS of my choice on top. This way I also have an encapsuled environment for testing and running my scripts and everything. If that crashes, I can just quickly reboot the virtual machine.

You can have a small cluster of VMs, 1 for each script, for added security and stability.

That's just about understandable to me!

I program with python professionally. If you ever want a second set of eyes for your code just let me know!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey cheers... if anything never works I’ll let you know.

Hey, thanks for the offer of help again, any idea why this doesn't work (below) - it's literally just copied out of the 2019 text book I'm using but it just doesn't work, it's an introduction to using plotly starting by rolling a die and printing some results - even before I get to visualise anything I've already hit a brick wall.

Capture.JPG

This is the class file I had to create first:

Capture2.JPG

Really simple stuff I know, but I'm already stuck, I need someone to tell me if the text book is already out of data or just plain wrong, or what sort of error I'm making!

Cheers!

Karl.

The python code itself looks like it should work. The only thing I can think of is that you are importing a different Die class in a different die.py by accident. Is the die.py you posted in the same directory as die_visual?

If you still can't figure it out, use a debugger to step into the initialization of the Die object in line 4 of die_visual. Good luck!

Hey thanks very much, I-m sure the class is in the same directory (It wasn’t originally and as figured that bit out). I-ll try a debugger, whatever that means!

Thanks very much! Really appreciate the help!

I won’t bug you too much don’t worry!

I’m surprised.... then again this is the windows version, I imagine you’re running a Linux machine or something a bit techy.

I get the feeling doing vizzes would be quite easy.... it’s just cut and paste... I’m more interested in automating stuff tbh. That’ll be a learning curve!

Hi, @revisesociology!

You just got a 1.35% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @revisesociology! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 7500 replies. Your next target is to reach 7750 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @revisesociology!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.804 which ranks you at #1452 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 87 contributions, your post is ranked at #64.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I did try my hands on some Python coding a year or something ago, I quit it soon :D It was kinda cool and I could get the gist of the logic, but wasn't ultimately my thing. I'll just stick to rambling :D

I'm glad it's a hobby, I've just had a really shit evening of shit just not fucking working. No clue why. Maybe I shouldn't be jumping ahead so quickly!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01