You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are you a Steem 1 percenter? Do you know who is?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

A bit harsh... in that it doesn't take into account people's offline realities. Also that SBD spike was relatively short lived.

I've been here since August 2017 was incapable of blogging due to work commitments Sept to just recently but have powered up 100% of my earnings, and bought steem offline and traded it in and look where I am.

Steem's also now about 60-70% of my crypto investment.

I think the reason there aren't too many people with 10K steem power is because there aren't that many people prepared to risk $30K on crypto.

In the real world that's a fuck of a lot of money even to me - and I earn more than 90% of the UK population, with no kids to worry about!

Then of course there aren't really that many people into crypto... there are 2 of us at work with any (<1%) and the other guy's the college database manager.

The skew just reflects the extent of relative poverty and risk aversion offline.

I like yr delegation solution tho'

Also i did just power up $500 of steem today but that's so much more than my recent earnings which recently have been 0.01% of the reward pool - once you faactor in how much the abusers take that's a MASSIVE % of what's left - and even that's a pittance.

Anyway.. on my phone loosing the thread - but I think making on here is harder than you make out and not powering up is just rational.

And that's without taking into account the banfield-repulsion factor. I mean he's enough to make anyone want to power down.

Sort:  

I did say everyone has their challenges and, the people I am mostly talking about have been here since 2016... I came start of 2017. There could definitely be a much healthier middle class here without them ever having to use fiat to buy in. I put a couple hundred € in in Novemeber last year. Other than that, I have earned it here, traded it up on exchanges etc.

Again, many of the people that could have been in that middle class have earned on the platform more SP than I have and in some cases, much, much more.

Real world is different and I even understand that people take some to make their life easier but, if they really, really need it, what happens if Steem fails?

The delegation would be awesome to see in action if the right people held it.

:)

Hope you aren't driving ;)

If only I'd been fre during that spike!

You've done well here. I'll be buying in more shortly - worth the risk for me.

Not driving just putting off going to sleep. !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69441.29
ETH 3671.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.32