What does the Steemit community need?

in #steem6 years ago

I've been actively using Steemit for about a month now and am really enjoying it. I've more or less sworn off other social platforms besides Twitter...but the troll/bot problem and groundless celebrity opinions there are big deterrents.
And I've been thinking about how to best contribute here. I've been reading through the threads and blogs and, well unfortunately not watching videos (I'm not a video watcher). There are some really cool things going on here I haven't seen on other social sites!
I should mention I have a social media marketing background, which has made me into a bit of a robot when it comes to social and I'm working ever-so-hard to break that because I fundamentally believe social media should not be about marketing. It should be about connection.
I should also mention I'm more of a writer than I am a marketer (marketing is how I pay my bills). I think this is the best way for me to contribute here, and I write about remote work/the future of work, millennial economic issues, and being adaptable in the age of uncertainty. I'm also working on some short stories and a book.
This doesn't seem like the place to just republish my blog posts or share interesting news articles I find. I plan to keep an open mind while browsing through Steemit to see how I can offer help in both growing this great platform and elevating other members who deserve to have their work noticed. However, if there is anything you've been looking for and not finding here, let's start a list.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65821.61
ETH 3008.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74