What's the story about your username on Steem?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Story about your username.jpg

Tell me, what's the story about your username on Steem? Where did it come from and why did you choose it ?

Choosing a nickname, a username has always been difficult for me. I couldn't choose one that I would love so much that it could go through the ages with me.

Every time I have to register somewhere, I take a lead to think about it. And finally, I end up with something not very original.

I confess to having been ashamed of some of my teenage aliases. It doesn't help me to choose one as an adult...

Actually, I have to tell you something. For a long time, I refused to put my real name on the Internet. Already on Facebook, I didn't do it... until the day Facebook blocked my account. They knew my name. And this is scary. I had to confirm my identity and since then I can't change it (Facebook blocked the option!).

Since that day, I use my first name (when possible). Actually, it's very rare for it to be available. How lucky I was for Steem! And if not, I would have use an improved version of my first name (like my first name and year of birth... Hmm).

To choose a username is to finally stick an identity, a story, an image in the collective unconscious. If you can't choose your first name, you have this chance to choose your nickname. It's rarely a choice you're not proud of it.

So tell me, the story ! I'm curious!



Join me on my profil @roxane to have more information about How to share quality content on Steem and others tips. If you speak french you can have a look at Comprendre-steem.fr!
You will find everything you need to start on Steem the FAQ, videos, tutos, tools etc.

If you like my work and want to support me, this is my BTC adress : 1H4faCE3f37JDi8bQqADXn4V1nQutr13oj

Pour signature.png

Sort:  
Loading...

A LOT of people ask me about my account name. A lot. I also own the doctor and techslut on twitter and instagram. Why techslut? Well, I was a tech journalist for many years. My tagline is "Innovation Turns Me On". It's also a name that raises eyebrows because I am taking a derogatory term (slut) and owning it in relation to attraction to technological innovation. It makes it memorable, I guess. :)

I also ready you were self-proclaimed poly?

I reserved my username on twitter in 2013. I wasn't even on twitter, I just wanted to have that name reserved - even though I didn't know for what.

I heard a lot about the "new economy" and "you economy" back then and I thought, all I want is a "connected economy" where we do business based on connection, compassion, collaboration etc, instead of corruption and competition. So I went to twitter wanting to reserve "connectedeconomy" but that was too long :) So it became @connecteconomy

Years later - after I got into crypto I realized THIS has the potential to become the connected economy i was dreaming of. So I started using it in 2017 on twitter and then also here :)

here comes the edit: once upon a time, there was a guy, alone and on the internet who wanted to be cool. However, all the cool names were already taken. He searched and searched and ultimately found his family. After seeing the movie Braveheart he thought all Scots were cool. He was also a big fan of medieval legends, because he had played too many times at WoW and other PC RPGs.

And thus, he stumbled upon the Fitzgibbon Family. A Royal Scottish family with many knights, in which the title White Knight was originally founded:

click on the image for the wikipedia entry

no, but, I also want to know about the Fitzgibbon!

edited especially for you, mew.

Now come join my Thunderclap, your white knight commands you!

yaaay! I don't have twitter. Can I still partake?

hmm, I think you'd need a twitter account to tweet..

do you have facebook?

yesss! I will unearth my long lost twitter acc for you :)

I am humbled by your kindness

Ha! What a cool-sounding name. The White and Black Knight have become dormant, so maybe nobody would mind if you decided to claim one of the titles for yourself. So which is it, Black or White? ;-)

When I chose my user name CRYPTORG I though to combine something from the blockchain technology - cryptocurrency and something from the future - artificial intelligence, CYBORG. So, putting this things together would mean CRYPTO + ORG = CRYPTORG the CYBORG of the CRYPTOCURRENCY.

I was translating some random words when trying to figure out a name. Eventually I came across the word celestial. I like how it sounds because celeb means silver in LOTR's sindarin elvish language. See the connection: celestial (synonym to heavenly, stars are in "heaven"), celeb (silver, the color of stars).

Realizing this random(?) connection it made for a quite good pickup for a name. I'm a bit of a fan of LOTR, too. No, not such a fan I could talk elvish, just a few words have stuck with me, like celeb (for example in the name Celeborn, the husband of the elven queen Galadriel).

Oh, and then I just took the i away to make it a word of my own, celestal, still with the "soul" of the original word.


That's the etymology behind it. I actually didn't like it as my username at first but have since grown fond with it. In sindarin c is pronounced as a k, like in a word kite. But in celestial the c is pronounced like s in soft, for example. So my username can be pronounced either with a k or an s, whatever suits the best. Though I prefer pronouncing it with a k little more.

The story behind my username is quite ambitious...Hahhahaha
I've been using the username annepage in every account I make on different sites.
Being a professional writer has always been a dream of mine since I was 15. So I thought that I become a writer, I would need a pen name.
I have always believed that I could touch lives and inspire people by sharing my experiences and lessons I learned in life. By writing, no matter what kind, you subtly show what kind of person you are through your words. Without knowing who you are, people can get an idea what your perspective is and how you feel about something. Therefore, a piece of you can be found in every page that you write.
My first name is Anna, and with this belief, I came up with the pen name, annepage which I use as my username.

@neeqi is a nickname derived from Monique. Monique was a character I played once upon a time in my life, a persona that was far from who I actually was. The thing about toying with different identities is there is an interesting time when you sometimes begin to resonant with something you previously didn't. The mind tries to categories and analysis your identity whilst you begin to find confidence in places you never had before. Its like wearing a mask and becoming whatever character you choose. Monique to me was a character with more confidence, empowerment, motivation and sexuality than what I had at the time. There was also a whirlwind of bizarre circumstances occurring but I am glad amongst it all I was able to adapt to a concept I unintentionally created for myself. @neeqi was stylised for me by a friend who was able to experience the Monique persona, and could see how it had benefited me. I have always liked the nickname and have been using it for the last 5 years or so.

I've had my nickname for 10 years. I needed a new domain name, back when I was selling my mandala.com domain to a mandala artist who needed it more than I did.
I sat down and considered who I am. I was studying yoga shortly before that with a past partner, and I always loved surfing as a teenager growing up, vacationing in S. Calf.
But I took that metaphorically, to mean "yogi" as "teacher" or master. And surfing, was just surfing the internet.
Since I was on the internet much longer than just about anyone I had ever met, having had an email address since 1983 at Intel, I felt surfyogi was a good description of someone that surfs the internet for a living.

MY NAME IS DERIVED FROM A HIP HOP RECORD LABEL THAT I LOVED CALLED .......DEFINITIVE JUX RECORDS .........FANS OF SAID RECORD LABEL ARE CALLED DEF JUKIES

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84