You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stake-weighted voting is a neo-fascist abomination: anti-liberty, anti-equality, anti-humanity

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I agree on the importance of SMTs or other solutions to the problem of STEEM being effectivly an oligarchy.
However, I am not sure that 50/50 splits and superlinear curves will change a lot. How can things get much worse, anyway? Superlinear curves were there before (if I gather that correctly), and seem to have some advantages (but some disadvantages too). A 50/50 split could lead to STEEM being more attractive for investors and could thus push the price. It also might lead to whales voting for content. Both would make up for the losses of creators quite quickly.

Could. Might. It's an experiment. Might as well turn out catastrophic.

I am with you when you say that other things should be top priority.

Sort:  

Compare the blue (super-linear) and magenta (linear) curve and tell me it is not a huge change in the wrong direction making making the wales even more powerful.

I don't think we need whale votes. They will only vote for what they find interesting for themselves. And there are only a few of them. They will not lead to diversity of thought.

We need the more engagement for small accounts else they loose interest quickly.

If steem gores back to super-linear I might as well cut my losses and cash in my chips.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70137.39
ETH 3937.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71