You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Only We Can Know What Quality Content Is

in #steem5 years ago

For a censor-proof platform, I have been muted more times than I can count and felt demoralised into not posting content at all. I still find it difficult to create content here because of the various threats and the idea that I have to meet some crazy standard.

There are people who think that posts from Partiko or eSteem are considered low quality and that you need to have at least 250 words in a post.

And these people still spout mass adoption as something that’s somehow viable without change.

In truth, post for yourself, but with the reader in mind and ignore those who scream about shitposts and downvotes.

If you have spent time on a thumbnail and given some thought to your post, then it’s a quality post to me. Whether I agree with it or not is another issue.

Sort:  

Dang, sorry to hear that you got railed so hard. It is a weird thing to navigate. Doing what we think is best given our current ability, only to find that someone thought it wasn't good enough. It would be REALLY awesome if people would stop downvoting and start mentoring. Instead of just injecting what could be perceived as a negative opinion into someone elses post, maybe they could give constructive criticism to help them improve. I'll never forget the first time someone helped and guided me. I still apply their opinion to this day! Don't quit!

There are great people here and they outweigh the bad ones. But you just don't know who is going to choose to be your enemy nor why. I understand why downvoting exists, (the false belief that people are protecting the reward pool) but I won't be using it.

I won't be quitting. Most of my haters have long left the platform. They burnt themselves out rather than focusing on creating content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63381.65
ETH 3169.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85