You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HF20 Update: Operations Stable

in #steem6 years ago

I'm glad the growing pains don't hurt so much anymore.

I will gauge success of this hard fork not by how badly it was implemented, but how Steemit Inc handles the corrective actions to prevent it from happening again. Please don't limit yourself to a discussion on how to improve, but actually put processes in place to guarantee that this mistake don't get repeated.

Speaking of:

discussion about how we can ensure that this is a system that works for everyone.

We need a discussion about frozen wallets on exchanges.

It took 2 weeks for the first major exchange to unfreeze STEEM wallets. There are still many more exchanges with frozen wallets. If STEEM cannot function as a currency, the currency becomes worthless and there will be no incentive to use the STEEM apps.

What is Steemit Inc doing about this?

Are you willing to engage in a discussion about the exchange's STEEM wallet problem?

Sort:  

So far, I see @bittrex getting STINC delegations to keep transferring. Binance's @deepcrypto8 still hasn't gotten any love yet, but I guess the @binance-hot one is the one that transfers to Steemians.

Also, @poloniex; not sure about other exchanges.

As many said already many times, Steemit Inc is in discussion with the major players and helping them get the wallets up and running.

The problem with wallets is a problem the exchanges have, not Steemit Inc. Blocktrades is up and running pretty quickly.

It is our currency that supports our social media platform. It is certainly NOT the problem of the exchanges. It is our problem. If STEEM dies, it would not affect those exchanges whatsoever.

You have also said that you didn't know who the liaisons are. Without any facts to back that statement up, then it is only hearsay.

What I mean is that only the exchanges can do it. It is in their control and only their control. That is the centralized nature of exchanges.

There is no public Team page I can link to, so there are no facts. Maybe something to ask Steemit Inc directly :)

Now you are starting to see why I want a discussion here :)

Then you are asking the wrong question ;) Ask who is the exchange relations person for Steemit Inc and maybe they answer. I tried getting a few people who know it to respond here, we will see if they do or not...

I believe I am asking the correct question. The liaison (or lack there of) is only part of the problem. It is apparent that the software that the nodes run is prone to failure and is too difficult for exchanges to operate effectively.

Is that apparent? It might be that exchanges just don't care to get a big enough server or have people as sysadmins who are incapable of running a node. I honestly have no clue what exchanges do. But running an exchange node is really not that hard. I would run one for every major exchange if they would trust me :D

Amen @ socky.........I have waited for exchanges to un-freeze wallets to begin a steem deposit. I am sure I am one of many in this same situation! How do I tell my friends about steemit/steem and in the same breath them oh you can't buy or sell any. The first question I get from a non Crypto person is " can I sell this for USD "............ do I tell them well, not now?

@silvertop It's interesting to note that Coinbase users now see a "View More Assets" link beyond the five cryptos they now carry. Steem is one of them (of 50). I take this to mean that they are educating their current users about other cryptos available, and might be offering Steem and many many others for USD in the coming months.
https://www.coinbase.com/price/steem
See also their recent blog entry, saying they are intending to add as many cryptos as legally possible https://blog.coinbase.com/new-asset-listing-process-a83ef296a0f3
So, I'd tell your people they'd be smart to buy some just before it becomes available "for USD" as the price will likely be much higher once it's that easy to buy an sell and Coinbase.

Coinbase has been eluding to do this for a while. I think that more will be added .... sometime. It is so difficult to get any of my friends to buy into Crypto, in fact it's hard to get anyone I know to even start. I cannot even get my grown married sons to buy. This is why we need to make signing up at Steemit easy, to encourage the newbies. :)

Yeh, sometime... Yes, easy sign ups would be great. It was simple when I joined 2 years ago (and you got 5 free Steem).
I replied to ned below, asking of Steem Inc had applied to Coinbase yet, now that they have a form for it.

That would be so nice!!

Steem is no. 39 in the Market cap right now. Is there's any wallet except Coinbase wallet? The transaction fee in Coinbase wallet is too high...

That is a stretch. I wouldn't advise my friends to invest in STEEM because of a theory that Coinbase is going to list STEEM.

A listing on Coinbase will still not address the underlying problem with exchange STEEM nodes failing which causes wallets to be frozen.

It has been 15 days. Only Bittrex and Upbit wallets are functional. I will give the status tomorrow.
Exchanges with frozen STEEM wallets

  • Poloniex
  • Binance
  • HitBTC
  • Huobi
  • Bithumb

Now 16 days...
Exchanges with frozen STEEM wallets

  • Poloniex
  • Binance
  • HitBTC
  • Huobi
  • Bithumb

Now 23 days. If you won't work with the exchanges, let one of us do it.
Exchanges with frozen STEEM wallets

  • Poloniex
  • Binance
  • HitBTC
  • Huobi
  • Bithumb

Now 18 days. Does anyone see how ridiculous this is?
Exchanges with frozen STEEM wallets

  • Poloniex
  • Binance
  • HitBTC
  • Huobi
  • Bithumb

Now 19 days. No response from Steemit Inc.
Exchanges with frozen STEEM wallets

  • Poloniex
  • Binance
  • HitBTC
  • Huobi
  • Bithumb

Now 20 days. Where is Steemit Inc?
Exchanges with frozen STEEM wallets

  • Poloniex
  • Binance
  • HitBTC
  • Huobi
  • Bithumb

Now 21 days.
Exchanges with frozen STEEM wallets

  • Poloniex
  • Binance
  • HitBTC
  • Huobi
  • Bithumb

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60180.31
ETH 3001.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64