You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Calling all Steemians to Protect and Defend Steem's new Wikipedia pages

in #steem5 years ago

The work y'all have achieved cannot be understated! You succeed where I could not, and I am most impressed! You appear to have made sure that even the most ignorant Wiki moderators couldn't deny the importance, and separation, of Steem as opposed to just Steemit. For those curious about my original efforts, check out the Infogalactic link where I uploaded the same wikipedia article I wrote (Infogalactic is a mirror of wikipedia that is less restrictive and controlling). Feel free to pull any useful information from that article, as the templates and stuff work identically to as they do on Wikipedia. And soon, I will update the Infogalactic page to reflect the updated Wiki page as well! :)

One thing I did notice is that the template at the bottom for cryptocurrencies lists Steem incorrectly. It lists Steem as a Proof-of-work SHA-256 currency, which is the same category as Bitcoin and Peercoin. This is very incorrect as Steem is neither an SHA-256 coin, nor is it even a Proof-of-work coin, it is a (Delegated) Proof-of-stake. You can see what I mean in the picture below:
Screen Shot 20190314 at 10.46.29 PM.png

The reason I bring this up is because boilerplate templates like this can't be edited by normal users and requires "established, registered users" to change them. So someone will need to submit an edit request to change the template to correct the info. I would do this, but I am choosing not to as I tried to do this with my previous attempts to make a page for Steem on wikipedia. The TL;DR version of what happened is that Wikipedia mods don't like being questioned about their choices and I got blocked for 48 hours. Because of this, I'm choosing not to submit the edit request for fear my account history might cause it to be not accepted. For those that wish to submit an edit request, just click the "E" in the top-left corner of the boilerplate (you can see it in the image) and it will take you to a screen where you can submit the edit request. Hopefully, with a fully fleshed-out wikipedia page for Steem existing now, this boilerplate info can be corrected quickly and without trouble.

Sort:  

Thanks @southernwolf for all your hard work and for pointing out this issue in the template area.
This is now corrected.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63645.37
ETH 3067.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81