You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I claimed a few accounts today: Is this something that everyone who can, should be doing?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I was in a 'why not' mood so I tried it, but:

Oops! Something went wrong!
Account: soyrosa has 5450961520480 RC, needs 5503870960213 RC. Please wait to transact, or power up STEEM.

I was trying this with 2699 active/undelegated SP.

I know from other posts the 'claim' price fluctuates so it might be more expensive or cheaper depending on how many people are actually claiming accounts.

EDIT: I read some of the answers already on the questions below - didn't refresh the tab before posting my comment ;-) I'm an 'open 20 tabs and start reading/commenting' kinda gal

What do you think people are planning to do with these claimed accounts? Is it to sell them like you would 'buy' a domain name in the hope someone wants that exact name? Or is it just a placeholder because for now I didn't see a way to give that account a name?

I'm super confused still but well - that's the whole fun of being an early bird :-) Something to learn every day.

Sort:  

I'm glad you didn't have just over the 5503870960213 required or else you would be a little stuffed for a day or so!

Thanks for testing it and showing us an error message - it's nice they show you the cost here - or the current cost I should say.

Just a placeholder for now - perhaps the final user will have the ability to name their account that they are given?

Thanks for the info!

LOL, yes, I only took the jump because I'll mostly be offline tomorrow. I wouldn't even have been able to share the results though :')

It would be awesome if we could see in advance what the 'current cost' is, like right before you submit your SteemConnect credentials. Less chance of sudden lock-outs. I hope someone develops a nice account buying tool with this handy feature built-in :-)

If it's large accounts building up a stock I can see them trying to make a profit but for the apps like actifit it makes perfect sense to stockpile them now for a time when they are getting a lot of new users trying to sign up and will be able to start them instantaneously unlike before with a two week wait.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84