You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some Youtubers who are failing at Steemin - Do they know why?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I recently wrote a blog about my experiences in a blogging community 14 years ago (!) (yes, quite similar to Steemit, minus the 'real' rewards!), and at some point wrote the following:

[...] the whole social media era became more pronounced and I feel that started an era where a lot changed: people either stopped blogging on a platform and turn to short 'I just ate lunch' updates on Hyves (Dutch) / MySpace / Facebook, or became the pioneers in 'name branding' where you would gather a following around your name, brand, and individual website.

That whole 'name branding' (identity marketing) is what made 'social media' actually 'narcissism media'. People made a name, got followers, and those followers would (do) treat you like a celebrity. (Which you are in a way of course.)

Steemit is going back to that old community again where I already had so much fun 14 years ago. Steemit reminds me of that. But as it was then, and as it is now: this is not 'post and run' as you call it, this is 'post and connect', or else your stuff won't even be seen or read or commented on...

The change will take a bit longer for those who got big in the narcissism era, but for us here: we already get it. The rest will follow. It's simply time to really connect again, instead of put people who don't give (back) on a pedestal.

Sort:  

My VP is shot, shot to smithereens, but your observation is so freaking accurate, i had to put one more nail in the coffin!

That is precisely it...

That vote takes you literally hours to recover from, so I appreciate it anyway :') :D

(If I were from the narcissism era I would now run and never come back though ;-))

Yes, that would be the case... I'm grateful thats not where we stand today... I really am

So, I gotta ask, any tips for the whole post and connect strategy? Should I just be basically following everyone and commenting as much as possible? Or is there more to it than that. Everywhere you turn on here....well everywhere I turn on here...it seems like someone's trying to sell me engagement. I find your suggestion that I could organically connect with people intriguing, and would like to subscribe to your newsletter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81