Introducing The Steem Introduction Sign 🤳♨️

in #steem6 years ago

Mock of the Steem-Intro-Sign mini-app

Greetings, community! This is the first solution I developed for Steem and in these days of red-hot-diving, I hope it brings some positive energy to your contribution as well. People are naturally and justifiably afraid of change and novelty and we need to show that crypto and the Steem community specifically are more than just a hype.

I'd like to open by saying that I'm very excited to present this app I've been working on for my introduction post, but the truth is that I'm quite calm, and tend to prefer the truth at face value, so that's that; it's just a little thing I made, and I hope people find value in it.

You might not find it useful yourself because you're already on Steem and you've already introduced yourself, but maybe you'd want to recommend this app to your friends who are not yet on Steem, or to fellow Steemians who have yet to introduce themselves properly.

What's it for?

Many introductory posts have this selfie + piece of paper routine going, it's practical and easy to setup. When it was time for me to do mine, I wanted to do something to make my introduction post a little interesting and to showcase some skills, and while I don't take selfies (at all, really, I don't) I do want to respect traditions, preferably in a way that makes sense to me.

Many people try to draw the Steem logo on that piece of paper and I'd be a total fail at that, and that there's no chance in the world that I'd color the logo to make it more clear as to what it represents, I thought that I should rather use the logo itself, and take a selfie with a screen showing the logo alongside the date.

Then I thought that it could be useful to other people who are also not that good with a pen, so I did just that, it wasn't much more work than what I intended to do for myself.

Even if it wouldn't be of any use, to no one, I enjoyed the process of documenting my work and would probably refine the process it for next mini-projects I'll document on Steem.

How to use it?

  1. Create your account as you normally would
  2. Go to the steem-intro-sign.herokuapp.com
  3. Erase the example username and type your username
  4. Tap the date if you're American and you prefer your MM/DD/YY formatting
  5. Hold that device beside your face and take a selfie, with someone else's phone I guess

Open source, of course

Here's a link go ahead =]

What's next?

I currently don't have any plans for this bit, I believe that I'll be posting the development process in the following days so if you're interested in that kind of thing - follow along or keep a tab on this article here, I'll add the links here once they're up.

Your feedback will be much appreciated

I'd love to have your opinion on the current state of the app and the direction you'd like to see it take in the future. Can't promise anything beyond keeping the app available and answering your comments :)

Sort:  

Haha, that's a pretty creative idea. I never understood where the picture with paper trend came from, but it's kind of fun to see people try to draw the Steem logo. It would be pretty cool to collect a large dataset of those drawings and find the average drawn Steem logo. I'm totally off topic. Nice post and app.

Congratulations @stavgeffen! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67