Resource Credits: Forgotten But Not Gone

in #steem5 years ago

Remember #HF20 ?
Surely, anyone who was here when the hard fork dropped remembers that week when no one could post and the long wait to power up the new "resource credits."

A few patches later, it seemed the Steem ecosystem had found equilibrium. Spam was markedly reduced, yet a plankton account like my main @wholeself-in with 100-200 SP could resume normal activity without much thought to resource credit austerity.

Problem solved, as far as I was concerned.
Or, maybe not.

Screenshot 20181204 22.11.07.png

I am not yet in the Steemit middle class, though I am working towards it through an initiative called @themesopotamians. My main account was, until yesterday, at least half built through interactions on Steem. So, while I am able to invest some of my own income from other sources, I appreciate the importance of being able to build from scratch.

This account, @steemitblackbelt, was created with a $10 starter pack purchase from @steemmonsters. Their 10% Steem Power promotion gave me $1 worth of SP, currently 2.7 SP. I resisted the urge to make it easy by powering up Steem from my other account. My first post set me back almost 50% Resource Credits. The next day, two (2)! comments and a few upvotes brought me down to the 10% depicted above.

I am not averse to investing my own money, but I'd like to know what building from scratch is like today. I transferred 5 STEEM to this account, just in case I need to power up more just to post.

If you have plans to attract and build up new members of the Steem community, take steps to ensure they can build or invest enough SP!

UPDATE: With my RC's recharged to 18.77% it's not enough for this post. Gonna power up that 5 STEEM.

20181205_104807.png


PS: Don't know if Steemit or Steem Peak is responsible for that error message, but "a few moments" is a bit disingenuous!

Sort:  

CryptoBloggers

Congratulations🎉, You received a upvote👍 from @Atombot


All Cryptoblogging Community at one place. Introduce CryptoBloggers. Let's make Bigger and Better Community for Every CryptoBlogging platform.

👉 Delegate to the Atombot 👈

1 SP | 5 SP | 10 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | Custom SP

👉 Join our Discord Server 👈

CryptoBloggers Server

👉 JOIN US ON 👈

Steemit75x75.png golos-75x75.png scorum-75x75.png wls 75x75.png smoke-75x75.png weku 75x75.png

Congratulations @atombot ! You received a 16% upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia for your task of 300 SUP Today.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.*Join free here Kryptonia Account
Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post.

Delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote by clicking links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

I'm in the same boat.. newly joined..

I was all excited and saw that post that said vote 50, comment 100 etc etc and went to town and blew my resourcing.. was stuck not able to post..

It's been a few days and was back up 30+% but a few comments later and some voting and I'm down to 16%

Note: it does take forever to build resources back up..

For what it's worth, powering up that 5 STEEM made a big difference. Immediately my RC's went up over 50%. Now at 50% after making that post earlier today.
Commenting on behalf of @steemitblackbelt

I was hoping to be a purist and build up from scratch...

Maybe I'll post about my experiences with it as a newbie..

Onward!

I did that for most of the first 100 STEEM. I had $20 that my husband put in (that was about 5 STEEM I think) and got some good sized upvotes and payouts from contests. Definitely look for interesting contests. I recommend you enter this one: https://steemit.com/contest/@thedarkhorse/round-2-free-delegations-for-4-weeks

Every platform has their own style and some styles compete, while others excel or die. With new platforms popping up everywhere, it's time to diversify and may the best platform win.

I'm not going to spend a dime of my own and if my efforts aren't compensated to a level I deem fair, I will have to move on.

I hope Steemit remains a player, but their are too many unknowns, so I can't see it being investment worthy at this time

Congratulations @steemitblackbelt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Same situation for me. This is @darrenfj 's comedy account. His personal one got much SP from @welcomewagon. This one from @partiko and he lent 5. But I feel your pain here too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61233.41
ETH 2934.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56