Steemmarking: Why Steepshot Matters

in #steem6 years ago

Hi there Steemians. Today in our outreach discussion we are going to talk about Steepshot and why it matters.

If you are not familiar with Steepshot then today is your lucky day. It is simply a photo sharing app built on the Steem blockchain. Think of it as a decentralized Instagram.

steepshot 1.jpg

Everyone loves Instagram but the best part about that for us is that everyone has heard of Instagram! Let me explain.

When doing outreach and trying to explain Steemit to others there are a series of hurdles we have all stumbled upon. Let's face it, it's difficult to wrap your head around the idea of decentralized social media if you are not familiar with it.

We here at Steemmarketing have onboarded dozens of new Steemit members and Steem investors but their learning curve is steep. It isn't always an easy process to sign up, load funds, find your voice and learn the community all at once. Remember most people haven't heard of Steemit and believe it or not, have no understanding of the crypto world.

Steepshot Is An Opportunity To Change All Of That

At our first Steemit Meetup in Los Angeles we met people who were just there to find out what Crypto was and figure out how they could get involved. When I mentioned that they could invest in Crypto through social media they were excited. It was a chance to jump in without having to learn the ins and outs of research, trading and LOSING money!

These were just normal people looking to get involved. Honestly, Steemit is the best way for this to happen but it still wasn't an easy sell. Most people there were not bloggers so explaining Steemit as a better Medium wasn't a huge sell. Believe it or not when I mentioned Reddit, people looked at me like I was from Mars. I was stumped and frustrated.

However, earlier that day I downloaded Steepshot but hadn't taken a look at it yet because I was busy preparing for the meet up. What a Mistake!

I fired up SteepShot during an open pitch segment and was stunned. It was exactly like Instagram but with earnings right there on the pictures.

It was a Eureka moment for me and the others on the Steemmarking team. Now when someone asks about steemit and we only have our phones we show them SteepShot and they immediately understand the opportunity.

Why SteepShot Works for Onboarding new Steemians

I know we here on Steemit understand how Facebook and Instagram exploit us for earnings but they do us a service as well. They have trained millions of members how to use their platforms so it is a no brainer for them to hit the ground running on SteepShot.

A second service they provide for us is our greatest sales pitch. Whenever we show someone SteepShot and they notice that it looks pretty much the same as Instagram we point out the one glaring difference. The earnings. You can always see the light bulb going off in their head.

Screenshot_2018-02-14-12-21-34.png

Now finally, the conversation becomes easy. I mean we all know folks with huge followings on intstagram. Even if we don't know them personally we probably follow one or two. Reaching out and letting them now about Steepshot and how to market to their followers to follow them on this new app where they get paid to like content is rather easy.

The one drawback for Steepshot at the moment is that it is only available on the Web and on the Play Store. There is no IOS version to date but it is on the way.

Pro Tip: Here is a little tip for you regarding SteepShot. Every member of Steemit should use it to post.
Why? Because every time someone opens the app to show a perspective Steemit member, they will undoubtedly like a photo to show that person how the earnings increase with a simple tap. I do that every time I open the app and I vote on tons of posts. If your photos are there and trending, you will garner votes from people doing outreach. It's a Win Win!

Steemmarking: Return On Community > Return On Investment (ROC>ROI)

Sort:  

interested to try this when it comes to iphone

I havent tried Steepshot yet, thanks for the suggestion! I do have concerns that since all of these posts (zappl, etc) show up on my "blog" that people are going to unfollow me (the few precious followers I do have! lol!) I wonder if Steemit will end up changing how all these apps are displayed in your Steemit blog. Anyways, off to download it!

the information is very good, I will learn more, about this explanation.

I have always loved using Instagram so I'm super excited to get going on Steephot! I seriously can't wait until its available for iOS! For the time being while it's still being built, I just posted my first picture on it through the actual steepshot website on my phone (as a work around for all you iOS users out there.)

Congratulations @steemmarketing, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2940 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $11708.40. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

great! it's applicable as a guideline :)

Thank you. I missed that LA Meetup so I did not learn about steepshot until now. Funny it has not been mentioned in the posts I have been reading. I wonder how it compares to Busy; another instagramesk steemit community

Just made my first post! I am going to put my portfolio on there like Instagram. ( Slowly, so I do not lose followers. Everything I post there shows up on Steemit)

Great 🙂🙂🙂

Excellently explained and illustrated. Thanks so much @steemmarketing for enlightening about the reasons why i need to use steep shot and also encouraging us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05