Cold Hard Cash...

in #steem6 years ago

image.png

I've popped my Steem trading cherry. In the middle of a slump in the price of steem I decided to cash some out for... well... erm.. cash actually. Am I mad?

That was a rhetorical question!

Yes, okay, I'm mad. But that's not the point. The point is this last month has been rotten to me and mine and we were in desperate need of a cash infusion to keep the wolf from the door. We don't live an extravagant lifestyle by any stretch but belts can only be tightened so far and the kids can't go without. We needed a little help...

Then I looked at my steem wallet. I had nearly 45 SBD and nearly 400 Steem Power.

I said at the start of the year, I wasn't going to power down, in fact I'm on a quest to power UP! But I was going to start withdrawing my SBD. I hadn't got that far yet, being busy and a little green to the whole process. And Steem was in a slump.

I made a post about this here - Sorry to anyone wanting to sell SBD this week... - about how deciding on the Monday to do a trade led to prices falling through their own arse by Friday. I swear I'm a jinx.

None the less, I'm a man of my word. I said I'd sell some SBD and I stick to it. If the price had skyrocketed I'd be just as adamant, perhaps a little more so lol ;)

The trade

I'm fairly certain it's no secret, since you'll see it in my wallet, that the trader in question was none other than the rising celebrity himself - @pennsif. He was a perfect gentleman and held my hand throughout the entire procedure, not once staring at my ample (if hairy) bossom. The only thing I had to do was turn the SBD into Steem, as that's his preferred medium.

Turning SBD into Steem (and back again) is fairly straight forwards through the Steemit Market page. Possibly my experience with EVE Online helped a little as I'm used to buy and sell orders - all trade in EVE is done through realistic stock market systems. I don't think I got a brilliant return there but there's no fees at least! I was watching the rate go down and down, excited that I was making more by the minute - went to make a coffee, came back and it was going up again... sod it, I just traded and got on with it! Probably lost out on a couple of pence...

Spit on hands...

He threw some money in my PayPal account - very sporting of him to go first, and I duly sent the Steem to him. 10 Steem for £30 (it was £30.03 I think but to hell with odd numbers!). The money sat in PayPal for all of 2 minutes before I had it hurtling towards my ailing, and rather red, bank balance - it should arrive Monday.

Wrap up

So the trade was done, done nice and easy and to great satisfaction.

Will £30 change my life - no.
Will it makes life easier - oh hell yes!

It costs us almost £30 a week to get my son to school and back. He's a bright lad and because we got him into the best school in the area we don't get free transport.
It costs us about £30 a week to heat the house - buying locally sourced hardwood logs.
We currently pay ~£30 a month in overdraft interest - something we're desperately battling despite the hell that's descended upon us lately.

When I'm not sat working until 3am, I'm coming up with ideas to post here to make ends meet - any help is sorely appreciated.

I'm not a religious man - but Bless Steemit!

Sort:  

"Will £30 change my life - no.
Will it makes life easier - oh hell yes!" - Good summary ;D

Thanks - it seemed appropriate. I didn't want to make out like this was a life or death situation but sometimes you just need a little help to get you through the week.

It's normal, i know people there have over 50.000 $ on accounts and it happened that they ran out of fuel when they driving a car because they are sparing(frugal)

I'm happy to read that steemit is helping to make ends meet. There's a lot of talk about 'cashing out' right now and it's something to consider if it's needed. The ability to exchange STEEM for actual cash or product is fantastic. It become much more real when you're holding a tangible object that has been earned by blogging and commenting. @ironshield

Last year I had no plans to cash out, everything went into SP and the race to high SP was on. This year I'm more practical, I'll grow over time but for the time I spend here I need to see something for it. Not speedboats and fast cars but just an easier life - not having to struggle to make ends meet.
I know I'm not the most prolific poster here, I work far too many hours but if I can make it contribute just a little then it because more realistic to spend my time here.

One day I hope that the money from Steemit isn't going to fighting fires in my life, but instead into a fund for improving it - a better life rather than a less worse one. :)

Hi StormRider, happy to help with the trade.

Let me know if you want to do anymore.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Stormriderstudio from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61220.17
ETH 2979.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73