You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Taking Money Off The Table But Keeping It In Crypto

in #steem7 years ago

Actually, I can attest that moving moving money between cryptos is most certainly a taxable event - both in terms of gain and loss. This year I owe over 40K in taxes from buying alt coins with other alt coins that had exploded in value. On the other side of the token (heh) you can write off any time you "harvest" a loss. Harvesting is a fascinating way to mitigate your loss at tax time while still being able to buy back your investment. My advice? Get with a CPA who really knows there sh** ... several are recommended on bitcoin.tax. I was pointed to the IRS guidance and did the reading myself. Don't get caught like I did this year. Cheers. If you need a reference to a crypto savvy CPA let me know!

Sort:  

Wow thank you for posting this comment! I was not aware that the IRS issued guidance for in-kind transfers between cryptocurrencies / assets; i thought they just mentioned "Bitcoin."

This certainly changes the decision criteria for those looking to avoid taxable events. Thanks so much for contributing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69715.93
ETH 3772.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77