Are we dead yet?

in #steem5 years ago

Is it safe to come out or were we killed? Is this purgatory? Sometimes it feels like it might be.

This has been one of my most inactive days on Steem for over two years as I only managed one post in 24 hours. I have been trying to get to the comments though as some of them are quite interesting. Some not so much, but that is part of the balance.

While I am pretty sure MEOS killed us today and we just don't know it yet, I haven't had a chance to wake up dead because I have spent the day taking photos at my wife's nephew's graduation for 5 hours and then, spent the last 6 hours editing them.

While I only did a "fast" edit, there were over 500 pics and I needed to edit 370 of them. They wanted shots of all people who visited and as people interacted etc and that means, taking many shots and with about 50 guests throughout the afternoon, a lot of movement. I have a love hate relationship with photo editing as while I enjoy it, doing it at the batch level is not really my thing but this was the only way to get through so many in a short period of time.

The bit of a rant I got out while putting my daughter to sleep prepared me for the day. It was kind of nice to be away from Steem for a few hours even though I was still keeping a half eye on it from time to time. While I read from my phone and even post from it, I try not to comment too often from it as I find I don't put as much depth into the replies. I find that those who commonly use their phone rarely engage well through comments as they try to save time and energy. That might just be my opinion though.

I have lots of opinions and I don't mind much if people think I am correct or not as they don't have my experience, nor do they have to live my life for me. Sure, I might be wrong but then, is there a problem with that? Not so much in my experience as the times I have been wrong I have come out stronger for it.

Many people think it is best to learn from other's mistakes but, rarely will anyone actually do that and even if they attempt it, what have they learned? For example, someone could have tried to start a business and failed at it and then someone else could learn from their mistakes and not start a similar business. However, this doesn't take into account differing skills and of course, time.

Timing is of monumental importance when it comes to building a business as not only is there the luck of right time, right place, there is also the necessary requirements to be able to support an idea. I see that Steem has a bit of a community alignment problem (and likely always will) as there are so many motives and incentive positions that even if some are satisfied, others are not. People want the moon without thinking about the benefits of low prices, they want mass marketing while most people in this world are scared of crypto or, do not know anything about it at all.

The time will come for these things of course, I just don't think this is the time for them now. In my opinion, the platform needs to operate well and scale and I don't just mean for more users, I mean the economic considerations also. If it isn't able to hold a million or 10 million people who all want to earn something, it is doomed. As a few have probably realized, that isn't going to happen with Steem alone and definitely not with the current economic model in play.

While many might disagree on what it should actually be, I prefer the trial and error approach more than the argue and do nothing approach. But then, I am not overly afraid of dying either - I just hope it isn't painful.

Maybe that is what holds many people back, a fear of death. On Steem it isn't probably the physical death but the fear of the death of the ego, the pain of being wrong, murder by failure. A lot of people fear failure so much that they don't try to leave the comfort zone and I think on Steem it manifests similarly where what the status quo currently is holds less risk than what the future might be.

But, this is the problem as to get to where people want (I am assuming few people are happy to stay here forever) takes movement away from where we currently are. As said, people can disagree on what that movement should be, but movement has to happen. Otherwise, why wait?

Time tracks motion and if nothing is moving, what is the point in waiting as essentially, time is standing still. I don't feel that we are standing still on Steem at all but, I also don't feel that we are moving as fast as we could move. The problem is that we don't move very fast because we can't move together.

You know that saying, If you want to move fast, move alone, if you want to go far, go together or something like that? A decentralized community struggles to do much of anything at times because no one can agree to move together yet, no one can really move alone either. Stagnation can take place easily and then, people get comfortable.

Centralized organization effectively are moving alone but what slows them down is the group they need to perform tasks. The larger the organization, the slower it moves. Steem is a large organization except, doesn't have a great deal of organization inherent in the system. What does organize the people of steem are the protocols of the blockchain that get processed every 3 seconds and this is why it is so vital to find a model that can support the behaviors that support the blockchain.

Not the community.

Yes, the community is vital of course but there is not much of a Steem community if there is no blockchain, right? Well, there is a blockchain and it isn't home to a Steem community at all. It is home to many Steem communities, and each o them have their own motivations and incentive points to achieve them.

This is why SMTs are vital the larger the group gets because they can be used to tokenize and distribute wealth on models that are altogether different to the Steem model. Sure, they are still bound by some pf the protocols, but, not that many - much like web designers are bound by the protocols of the internet and browsers but have a free hand in the design.

I could be wrong, but the new internet is going to be one where blockchains are the protocols that people utilize for their everyday use case needs, no matter what they are. The difference from now is that there will be a greater degree of ownership and distribution to a much wider range of people at a global level. There are 7 billion people who benefit from the internet now, even if they are not on it themselves and all of these people are going to benefit from blockchains and tokenization in various ways too.

People are fighting over scraps when the future is filled with so much potential. That s okay, it is a scarcity mindset and most of us have it because, most of us have been raised wanting more without the means to have it. This is not just an economic statement but that is how most people on Steem look at life on Steem, through the eyes of price, economy, distribution. This in itself is a pretty good reason to make sure the economic model keeps improving.

Well, I might be going to bed and who knows, maybe I will wake up crypto-dead after all. I might also keep writing until death takes me eyes open.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

If w're actually dead then we've been actually dead for a while XD

At least with steam being the kind of hydra it is (currently I'm not sure if we're at the stage where it will survive the "main" head getting completely axed yet) it will only completely die if every single witness completely gives up on it. The other "dead" places I've been on (G+ and a smattering of forums) still had moderate amounts of activity and where they actually died was because they were centralised which meant someone could (and did) pull the plug and then nobody could use it even if they wanted to.

because they were centralised which meant someone could (and did) pull the plug and then nobody could use it even if they wanted to.

Just think of all those people who built their lives upon those platforms under the guise of ,too big to fail. There are benefits to centralisation, there are massive risks too.

Power up before going to bed. It is SPUD 2 day ;)

I didn't have much. It was a micro PU today :D

I'm waiting my order on binance for 5 hours now. Ugh. Gonna power up soon :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Alive and kicking and we are not doomed. I love some of the negative FUD as it just shows how narrow minded some people really are. I have heard the EOS platform is worse than here with like 90 accounts holding a majority of the stake or something along those lines.
This place is still a puppy yet everyone expects it to perform miracles and we get back to that instant society topic again of no patience and just the now moments.

The top 100 holders collectively own 75.13% (751,337,324.36 Tokens) of EOS

https://etherscan.io/token/tokenholderchart/0x86fa049857e0209aa7d9e616f7eb3b3b78ecfdb0

I don't think that I am dead yet, and I am so glad to see that you are not dead either! 😃

How do we really know, how do we really know.... ;D

As long as I can keep powering up, I must still have some life left!

As long as I can
Keep powering up, I must
Still have some life left!

                 - melinda010100


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

:D THat is the true sign of life perhaps :D

Lol just watched the video and it sounds like on “Voice” you have to pay tokens out of pocket to upvote... And that it isn’t going to be bought or sold... 🤣

Hmm.. so.. they have built Patreon?

Well Patreon has a currency you can use as a currency. Sounds like Voice token will be locked in the platform from the sounds of it lol... Zero fungibility or liquidity, just a shitcoin you can earn with the ideas of then giving it all away 😑 Would rather stake something and generate extra, I would never have found Steem as interesting if you had to lose money just to upvote...

I will have to look into it tomorrow because that just sounds.. umm... what is the word?... oh... shit. Must be something more to it.

What are going to do voice token?
Answer - Nothing
Cannot be sold for BTC LOL.

We are still here and Steem’s blockchain continues to produce blocks at the same cadence so we can continue building. I see Vision as a Dapp but we have an ecosystem here so not too impressed. While I may have a look at it, nothing said today will put me away from here!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I find that those who commonly use their phone rarely engage well through comments as they try to save time and energy.

Nowadays I can usually engage from the phone at the same level as from the laptop because of my bluetooth mini keyboard. However, it seems to me I have left it at my church for the moment so I just have to wait until tomorrow to find out. I also bought his foldable mini keyboard which really fits in the pocket. Then I can engage literally anywhere with ease.

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 55.81% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99