Look after yourself and others

in #steem5 years ago

In my post this morning about resource credits which was partly a cut and paste from 10 months ago, it mentioned that I had around 25,000 Steem Power. This means that I have over doubled the Steem holdings that took me over 22 months to build, in the last 10 months.

The reason I have been able to do this is because while my earnings have been relatively constant, I have bought and traded into Steem quite heavily. While some people think that this might be silly as an investment, that is generally the people who only think in terms of fiat, the ones who are likely to always be sellers.

I don't think of it as investing; I think of it as supporting the communities we want to be a part of.
@edicted

I do see it as investing however, as I believe that investing into the people and communities I value is important. I find those who are only here for reward yet are unwilling to power some of their earnings up to support others quite ethically pathetic - especially if they complain about a lack of rewards. Everyone is free to do what they want with their Steem, but it should come as no surprise that not supporting others often comes with a lack of support.

But, there is more to it than just supporting the community because there is an extension from there that moves back into the realms of investment directly, as Steem Power is becoming an investment tool for investing into businesses, and the businesses will arrive.

While many people might have sold their Steem for what they might consider a profit, even if I could have sold my stack at the highs, it wouldn't have been enough to do what I wanted it to do - be life changing. If it got there again, I would be able to sell 25 percent of the stack and have it worth the same as my entirety back then.

But, that isn't the point.

I want to be able to spread my investments broadly and that means that I always want to hold Steem, because Steem Power gives me distributive power over the inflation pool. That means I can place it onto accounts directly or, onto businesses directly. People are confused if they think that Steem Power guarantees them an income, it doesn't - but there is a mass of potential income streams available through usage of Steem Power.

For those that sold at the highs, how many of them changed their lives significantly? Well, how many of them can buy in at the same level now? Ahh, this is the funny thing as many can't as they are in the same position now they were in before, and others won't because they don't believe in Steem or care about others on Steem enough to actually buy into it and support the ecosystem and others here.

That is fine either way because as I see it, Steem will be an investment layer and while it would be great if it was more widely spread among many thousands of users, only a relatively small number of people have the type of investor mindset to take the risks on it. This means that those who sell will likely always sell and what they sell will be bought by people like me - people who are looking to build toward the future.

If everyone had an investor mindset and the patience to build for the future, the wealthiest 1% wouldn't be so far ahead of the game as they would have to share their wealth with everyone else. The reason they don't need to share now is because,

people sell what has value and buy what doesn't.

Since I started actually learning about Steem (which was about 6 months after I joined), I began to recognize that there is a massive upside potential here and, it doesn't only come from selling like most coins - it comes from building. While the community might be down in the dumps because of current price, as long as people keep building on experiences here it won't matter long-term. It is now that the muck work takes place and as always, only a scant few will do that work.

Funnily enough, those who are likely to get their hands the dirtiest are the same ones who have an investors mindset as they understand that buying-in isn't enough, there has to be products and services of some description to back it. While those who earn and dump here as well as Steemit who dumps their mine help to push prices downward, the investor class will keep buying in at greater degrees so that they have more of that potential upside and while many laugh and consider us fools, they best be happy with whatever they have now because, they might not ever have more.

Most people on Steem are users, not investors. It is like the people who claim to be good with technology because they have MS Office skills and can update a Facebook page - they are users, not creators. It is the creators who can develop products and services, it is the creators who are able to attract an audience. The audience of Facebook is an audience of users, not owners - Facebook is a company of creators - they offer users a compelling experience, they monetize the interactions, they take profits.

Doesn't make it healthy, but they do generate interaction and wealth.

For me, being part of a decentralized group of owners who believe that what they are doing has importance past making themselves rich, is quite empowering. While people might look at my experience here as a financial loss, what they are committing themselves to is a life of being owned by a centralized authority. I enjoy my experience here, I enjoy the community I interact with - which makes it a no-brainer to support.

And, because I support the development of the ecosystem, it is more likely that there are people with stake who will also support me in Steem. In time, we can support each other to have the platform and means to support many more on their own journeys. Possibly, many of the sellers will find that the chance to be an owner is very expensive, and they will have to settle for being an employee. I like to be an owner of my experience. To own, one must create - or buy.

I think that when Steem eventually moves, many people are going to be caught with another man's fiat in their hands.

Time to sleep.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

Obviously, the potential of this platform is beyond its current monetary value. I am looking forward to invest more SPs.

There is a great deal of upside potential here and while there is FUD, there is even more opportunity for those who aren't afraid to take on risk at some level.

Not only enjoying but the ability to expand our networks and gain perspectives is as valuable as being able to earn and sell for gains as well. I still believe in the utility value of it all which should ultimately lead to improvements.

People spend so much time online yet, think that the only value in it is what they consume.

What is that picture, a burnt out scooter moped thing?

What is the muck work involved? Building out the new interfaces and the insanely impressive things like dtube and scot? Moronically continuing to "waste" time posting here when it's "clearly not worth it"? I can do one of those things XD

I suppose I can do some of the other things I'm doing too but nobody cares about that ;D

I didn't understand your last quote comment :S

What is that picture, a burnt out scooter moped thing?

Yep, saw it the other day. I am guessing there are going to be some angry parents somewhere.

What is the muck work involved?

For most, it is to "have the strength" to keep on posting what they like. Pretty funny that many struggle with it :D

I didn't understand your last quote comment :S

Centralized currencies are owned by the authority, not the holder. People have usually sold into fiat not crypto so when things actually move, they are going to be holding what they don't own - after selling what they did.

If everyone had an investor mindset and the patience to build for the future, the wealthiest 1% wouldn't be so far ahead of the game as they would have to share their wealth with everyone else.

This. Those who understand how the game (the nature of money) works, will take risks and buy into things that others will consume. Then consumers nag when when the rich get richer while not taking any risks themselves, but putting all the money to valuables that are guaranteed to lose value.

Posted using Partiko Android

not only guaranteed to lose value, they are invested into by the rich. People are literally consuming to increase the wealth of the 1%.

giphy (14).gif

giphy (15).gif

giphy (13).gif

The similarities are becoming striking...

;-) :-)

Perhaps if more people had listened to whoever you keep quoting, places like the US wouldn't have so much poverty, ghettos, mass shootings and the like. If you aren't willing to plant seeds, you are likely to have a crop to reap.

Reap what you sow, isn't that the saying?

Man you seriously need to develop a better sense of humor. If I am going to pull out a Mr Douglas on you it's because he was always on the right track with his speeches...the one similarity also, as described in the post and in comparison to what would always happen with Mr Douglas is people don't tend to want to listen to reason. Lighten up dude, if I throw you a Douglas it means I was inspired by the post.

Perhaps I should watch an episode or something, i just don't watch much TV these days as I find it waste of time :)

There's always some comedic value in even the worse of situations. Though it took Mr Douglas many years of trying and a whole lot of comedic value in his failures with a whole host of sarcasm tossed in by those who'd been doing it successfully for years he finally managed to grow that crop of corn.

I get it, I really do. Those who've taken that little seed to fruition are passionate, that same passion accelerates when they are agitated at others who constantly are spelling gloom and doom, if Mr Douglas had listened to them he'd never grown that corn. By the time you got to that Facebook part I felt the Mr Douglas in you. Once you get acquainted with posters you can get a feel for what's driving their emotions and what heightens those emotions.

**Green Acres was a sitcom on television about a wealthy New York attorney who had a dream of owning a farm. He was snookered right off the bat by Mr Haney, basically a snake oil salesman of everything, into buying a dump of a farm house where things constantly fell apart whereas he spent years dealing with a couple of inept repair people, a host of other colorful people including a couple who never could have kids so they adopted a pig for a son named Arnold who everybody but Mr Douglas could understand a word he ointed whom Mr Douglas spent years trying to convince them pigs couldn't talk. Like I think I said before back in the day the series was pure comedy gold with Mr Douglas and Sam Druker who owned the general store as the only two who made any real sense but that flew right off the shoulders of the rest of them as they were all so quirky kooky (and colorful) the only thing that mattered was they made sense to each other.

Thank you for sharing! I am new to Steem and would love to learn more. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97