Six months of growth on Steem

in #steem5 years ago

Six months ago I wrote a post about the one percenters on the platform and gave a breakdown of the accounts in various SP range.

There are 9637 accounts with more than 500 SP in their wallet and THEY ARE ALL 1 percenters in regards to total Steemit accounts.

That was May 23rd and the price of Steem was 3.08.

I thought it would be interesting since Steem is about 10x less to have a look at if there has been a change in the numbers at all. There have been quite a few people powering up. Here is the table thanks to @abh12345


account size 29 11 18.PNG

As we can see, the numbers have changed and in some groups, significantly.

There are now

  • 255 more dolphins in the 5k - 50k range,
  • 11 new orcas in the 50-100k range, and
  • 25 more in the 100k+ range.

Is this a good result for 6 months? I don't know but other than the drop in the 60-70k range (which is likely a shift up on the scale to larger) all are in the green. This is still very far from healthy but distribution is slowly getting better and the more price drops the and people buy in, the better the distribution will continue to become.

The more this happens, the less influence the large staked players have on the pool draw and i the words of @taskmaster4450 "The whales are losing their power."

This also means that there is a growing number of diverse users with some stake who could use it to influence the system in various ways from voting directly on authors work or supporting through the various applications that are popping up all over the place.

As I have said many times, when it comes to a healthy platform there needs to be a fa middle where there are a large number of accounts between the 5 and 100k range that are able to roam the waters and distribute stake. Often, these accounts are also users who have been on the platform for some time and have a decent understanding of the dynamics, making them more valuable than their stake alone.

I think that I will try to coerce @abh12345 into running these numbers every so often as I think it gives an interesting view of the platform.

There is a lot of FUD out there tonight so be careful not to get too emotionally invested. For me, if Steem keeps dropping and I am able to get the job I am after, I am going to risk it and start buying in and hopefully make it into the 50k+ Orca category in the coming months.

By the way, there were 9637 accounts over 500 SP 6 months ago and now there are 10967 making it +1330 or an almost 14% increase in that time.

Speaking of that job though, I have my psych test in the morning so will hit the hay.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]


View this post on Steeve

Sort:  

I am one of those 644 that made it into the 1k - 5k range in the last 6 months :^)

Congrats and I am glad that people have been powering up :)

Nice one :D

Hi Taraz. It is starting to look better now. The longer the price stays down the more everyone will grow. Another 2 or 3 months should do wonders for everyone.

Wow, I had not idea I was a 1%er! I'm still a bit shaken by the restructuring. I was going to add to get to 5K, but now I'm not so sure. Anyway, it's clear for now that Steem will go further down in price for some time.

I have no idea about the price but the restructuring is a good thing in my opinion. not well implemented or announced but shold lead to some decent development.

I am one of the 2 in the 80-90K spot. Soon to 100K. :)

A psychological barrier only perhaps but, the round numbers are nice to surpass. I have a long way to 100 but 50 might be doable at some point. :)

It happens surprisingly much faster than you might think.

Would be intereating to see a brealdown of the less than 100 SP accounts :)

yes, it has been done but I have done it. Perhaps @abh12345 has a script for it? 20 SP intervals?

Thanks :) 20 SP intervals is great

Posted using Partiko Android

21 hours ago, maybe you have had the interview/test already, how did it go?

Some good news, I am one of those new dolphins since May, small, but still growing and like you, should the prices continue to decline, im going to take a bigger risk too. See you at the top :-)

It went well enough I feel and will find out the results next week. I am not great in testing but the interview components should have been ok :)

The top has no ceiling yet ;)

Yeah I see that it is bottom heavy. the 1 - 5k (Which I am in) is more sparse than I had imagined. Yet they are an area that needs better representation. I cam on in May of 17 and yes this group has been taught a lot. With the blue light special on SP going on it would be tempting to move up the ladder. So far though I have invested only my time and would like to keep it that way. Blessings @tarazkp PS: Enjoyed the chart so much as it gives a visual.

So far though I have invested only my time and would like to keep it that way.

Most do the same but remember that the inflation pool will always be limited regardless of price.

Love it when you break down everything... I hit 500 within the last three months. Something I was unable to do when the prices were up. It has taught me to appreciate low prices and to pay attention to the community at large.

Crossing my fingers for a better future and working hard for it.

Posted using Partiko Android

It is a good feeling to cross some of these boundaries, if only psychological, as like you say, it makes you appreciate and pay attention differently. Fingers, toes and anything else that can be crossed...

It does. Thank you :)

Good luck with the psych test and hope you get the job

Cheers, me too. It went okay-ish so far :D

These are great statistics and together with the amount of passion seen on the feeds this week demonstrate how and why the protocol will survive and develop with the community taking the lead going forward. I hope to continue moving up that chart in the coming year!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It is very likely going to come together and the latest challenges I think will help success, not hinder it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95