Staking your voice, voicing your stake

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

I had an interesting discussion at SteemFest where we were talking about stake-based witness voting. My view is that as important as it is, there is a factor that many people tend not to consider.

Currently, Freedom is the largest single witness vote and is able to heavily influence the order of the top 30 but this doesn't necessarily mean influence the witnesses themselves. To influence the decision making of witnesses requires having a voice, being able to inject ideas into the witness group for consideration and implementation. Without this voice, stake alone is a difficult tool of influence development decisions. I would suspect that despite Freedom's rather muted profile, they do in fact have a voice somewhere to input ideas.

Last night I posted an article broaching the subject of locking up stake for a guaranteed return (read through the comments) and one of the things that came up was, what if everyone locked up their stake? I don't see this happening because for many users, there is little benefit in locking stake and for users for myself, there are other things to consider.

I just bought more STEEM. Not a great deal and since I don't have fiat to spend, I had to sell something else in order to do so. The reason I bought it is because I believe that in the long run, that STEEM is going to outperform the other investment. However, in order for it to do so it requires the Steem community to be successful. I am pretty sure that it is going to be because people are willing to discuss and implement for a future where it is.

I wouldn't lock up my stake (at least most of it) to earn even if I could earn 100% on 10x votes daily because I care about the platform itself. I care about onboarding and eventual user retention. My stake could be my voice as much as my actual voice is when I have a chance to communicate with investors and witnesses. Currently, my staked voice is insignificant, irrelevant.

I can spend 10 flags a day on 10 over-rewarded shitposts in Trending and have absolutely zero influence over them. A 2 dollar vote is not going to make their earnings negative, it is hardly going to be felt on a 500-1500 dollar reward. However, take that massive reward away and bring Trending back to 20-50 dollars and suddenly my flag is meaningful again, it will be felt. Of course, without the ability to buy votes Trending will have far fewer shitposts filling its feed as they wil now rely on organic votes and friends. Chronic bidbotters rarely have a lot of friends willing to vote them for curation return alone.

What this means is that whatever is left of the pool after those who want to lock their stake do so will be controlled by people like me, people who desire good content, people who want people to be rewarded, people who want people to benefit from the system. It means that the remaining portion that is left in the pool has a soft reset of the distribution potential and is now the active force that dictates the entire public view of Steem.

As I said to @smooth, I am unlikely to lock my stake because having it unlocked means I am able to remain relevant, I am able to use my stake to affect Trending, not just through flags, but also by voting on posts that deserve to be rewarded. I would actually at this point of distribution reset introduce the other aspects for testing that have been flying around, 50/50 curation and some percentage of free flags as it gives the best chance of a successful test as the passive and blind are taken out of the mix.

50/50 curation scares a lot of people because it sounds a lot like authors are giving up rewards but that is far from the case. Instead, it is a much more natural (in my opinion) process of active investors having a voice in what the future of Steem will look like. Again as I said to @smooth:

In my opinion, my voice in developing a healthy view of Steem is worth more to my holdings than a 10x vote return.

I am closing in on 30,000 Steem mostly earned on platform or traded back and forth for over the last 2 years. By far the most value adding thing to my Steem would be for price to increase a lot and I don't see how that is going to happen under the current situation other than through market pumps and dumps. I want some stability and sustainability in the future and the way to do that is to spend the time and energy actively creating an environment that is supportive of the authors and the apps that will attract and retain users.

Remember that a current major draw card to apps is their delegations and ability to reward users which means that the apps won't lock stake. If anything, Steemit is likely to find more apps and hopefully community curation initiatives to delegate free stake to in order for them to distribute Steem to the active community. There is no guarantee this will happen but as @ned said at steemFest: "Apps are the future for the next two years" and there are plenty of exciting projects in the pipeline to distribute to.

This means that Steemit can inject a lot more draw on the pool through delegations to apps, the apps can attract many more users to distribute to and when SMTs are released, each will have a strong user base and track record of development to become standalone products. The delegations could slowly be reduced as the apps grow in strength and new apps coming in can take new delegations. It also means that initiatives like, @ocd, @curie and @steem-ua become significant distribution mechanisms.

There are lots of things to think about of course but for me, having the ability to actually have a say in the Steem ecosystem, to be able to affect posts significantly through both votes and flags and support the continually expanding range of app options is going to be far more valuable to me for my own value. Having the ability to continue to earn in a similar way to those I vote on takes pressure off me to actually earn through my own posting and instead spend more time on the community aspects and, using my voice.

Before SteemFest I mentioned I was going there to sort out a few things, understand my place in the community and I am still on that path however, there is a slightly clearer direction than before. I don't worry about everyone locking up their stake because I already know people who won't and they aren't necessarily the smallest users. There are many, many people who care about the future of this platform and the community that populates it and I would love to see a time where they can actually be seen, where there voices can actually be heard without the maximizers crowding them out.

For those here now and arriving, the view of the ecosystem would hopefully be much healthier and reset expectations not only on earnings but, what is considered good enough for visibility. The curation groups would have a much larger say and the many smaller users with some level of stake will be able to use their voice to both reward users, earn and disagree with rewards at a much more influential level. In time, the voices that are able to get traction and rise from the group will become community leaders, key users and future attractors rather than be unseen, buried, lost.

When it comes to the details of actual change, that is up to the numbers people, the witnesses and the data divers to work out what would be the most likely path forward but, the pressure for change should come from the community itself.

Your voice is worth something, and it is worth a lot more than a few votes.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]


View this post on Steeve

Sort:  

I agree that I think many of us who still write, engage and vote manually, would be unlikely to lock up stake.

I'm liking this idea.

Regarding understanding our places in the community, I think nearly everyone at every level feels under appreciated. :) I guess this is due to the ever falling price, users and Market cap.

I reckon that many users would take the opportunity to actively build their network and this will happen organically through visibility also. I feel it would change the entire ecosystem very fast.

STEEM has a great future. Keep the faith! Bought some myself.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great follow up post.

I'll just resteem again and read the comments I guess :)

Thanks, I am slowly building a picture for myself to work from. :)

Not just your picture :)

As they say, they are worth a thousand words and I have written a couple million so far :D

I thought there were a testnet, where we could implement such ideas ?

A testnet is useful for technical testing, but it can't predict future behavior of participants on the mainnet.

I am not sure if it is up and running yet.

whatever draws more active investors is what we need ... this is supposed to be "decentralized" ... not a cabal of whales having an orgy at the top

.. not a cabal of whales having an orgy at the top

At least they should stream it.

It would be an interesting tradeoff to decide on but I think I am coming to agree that whatever the owner chooses will benefit them and the ecosystem as it will drive more value creation directly to the intent of the owner rather than the invisible hand that moves parts of the current economy here. I appreciate the thoughts and look forward to the continued discussions!

The discussions are ongoing and I am a bit surprised so many comments have come in. There would be many details to work out but there is also a great many intelligent people who working together could get a pretty decent rounded view of what is needed. Let's see :)

Wow I just got pumped to guy more steem! I’m looking to buy a little bit more while we’re at this dip, but I’m being patient at the moment!

It’s going to be interesting if we actually move to 50/50! Do you think it’s actually gonna happen?

Posted using Partiko iOS

It is a tough sell but if we could reset the pool a little then I think it could get a trial as it is a small tweak of the code. If it did, I would personally be happily curating and posting less.

Hi @tarazkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.197 which ranks you at #241 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 242).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 252 contributions, your post is ranked at #5.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 53.32% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 12 SBD or the respective amount in Steem. Vote value is 150% of the bid.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 8 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 19 SBD worth and should receive 275 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63088.03
ETH 2952.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55