What Steem can't buy

in #steem5 years ago

Yesterday, I wrote a post about Steem and @abh12345 mentioned that his entire Steem holdings could be bought for 3000 euros due to the price, which would take less IRL work than he has put into the Blockchain. But he also mentioned that buying in doesn't create the friends he has made through the work put in. This is something I agree with and am in a similar position with the value of my holdings.

20180919_185210.jpg

Buying into Steem is a great way to invest into the project and definitely gets a foot in the door to the community, but it doesn't come fully-loaded.

  • friends
  • network
  • relationships
  • community status
  • learning
  • knowledge
  • skill development
  • track record
  • conversations
  • self-discovery

None of these can be purchased, some can be facilitated.

@mattclarke also mentioned in a comment on a different post, there is no kudos for holding or selling other coins, but the behaviour exhibited now does impact on future reputation on Steem. Those who are powering up are building their personal brand through their demonstrated belief in the platform.

This is all part of the other reason that those who are here maintaining quality, consistency and community development are likely to do well when prices increase. As I have said often, track record matters and those who are working the hard yards now are creating their track.

Remembering that many of those buying in and powering up now are invested users, they are going to increasingly be looking at what makes their investment safer, better, stronger. They will look for track record. While someone who buys in only can self vote, those who have developed a network benefit from the community voting behaviours too.

The other factor to remember is that those who buy in cold won't have a network but will soon realise it is important, who will they find? They want to maximize their investment and likely community position, and will recognize the best way to do that is to support the community in various ways. This again means that those who have built a network will be more likely to attract new vested users too.

For example, most of us picked up many users as price increased but the difference this time is that it will be increasing from low lows where people are buying in. This means new followers aren't just f4f users looking for votes, they are more likely to be staked users looking to vote.

But again, the users who have been here consistently building their relationships are likely to also support each other going forward too. The communities and projects supporting the community now, are likely to get significant backing also as they will have built that foundational history.

This is all part of the larger dynamics of Steem but in a Community project made of many communities, the relationships created matter and, most aren't able to be bought cheaply.

There are so many aspects of this world that can't be purchased and the ones on Steem hold values of various kinds that many don't immediately consider. The work put in is an investment though and can realise tangible returns in the future, as well as strong relationships.

A network of people who support each other and grow together in the hard times, are likely to laugh and enjoy together in the good times.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone)

Sort:  

get back to basics and the decentralization message ... that's why people are going to want to hear in 2019 as markets continue to implode and funny money will be questioned all over the world (fiat). every pound of prep done now to prepare for the new influx worldwide will be golden.

peace

it is going to get even more interesting to see when the next crash begins as I think that is going to be a major driver of the currencies and chains.

yes, will be fascinating, but unfortunately pain for a lot of people... sad system we still live in, but very human. the crash has already begun i think, U.S. is kind of the last link.

This is exactly how I hope it plays out. I have been posting, reading, and making significant comments since I joined in may. Although the price is way down from where I bought most of my Steem, I have made the most headway during the past two months. With less content out there for others to read and evaluate, and then possible comment and up-vote, perseverance has paid off. Up-votes may not carry the monetery gain they once did, but to me it is about making the connections with fellow Steemians. I enjoy the interaction, and discovering of things, that before my involvement on Steem, I had no idea about.
I thoroughly enjoy the many hours I spend on Steemit everyday. I will continue to handle my involvement with Steemit as I have done in the past, with passion, curiosity, and hope to continue to gain support for the content I produce.
I will continue to support the Steemit community and remain active as long as Steemit is around. Hopefully that will be for as long as I am around.

Up-votes may not carry the monetery gain they once did, but to me it is about making the connections with fellow Steemians.

It kind of depends as it is about the vests of the vot and Steem collected. Compared ton when prices where high, I am earning a fair bit more Steem now. Of course, it still has to go up to have value :)

I will continue to support the Steemit community and remain active as long as Steemit is around. Hopefully that will be for as long as I am around.

This is what many miss, they are here for themselves alone and in being so, miss a large part of the experience in my opinion.

so right, we gotta stick together, enjoy each others company and see where this community can take us , if nothing else, I enjoy having friends who share my values and I feel safe sharing my opinion...........thanks

I was here for a long time before i had any power behind my account and it's the people who i have met that added all of my value. My vote is still worth very little due to the market but going forward i hope that it will be influential again so that i can bring on the people who are adding new value to the site.

The people here now are the ones who believe in the project and currently they are the ones shaping our next few years. Even the smaller accounts right now have a much bigger say than usual as the can be seen and heard. It's great to see some of the people who i've connected with for a long time still here and still working away. It gives me great hope for the future when prices recover.

This market has changed perspectives on the blockchain and refocused people on development rather than profit which can only help us going forward. What we just need to do is focus on the development of more active users as well.

A network of people who support each other and grow together in the hard times, are likely to laugh and enjoy together in the good times.

Nicely said.

Posted using Partiko Android

The people here now are the ones who believe in the project and currently they are the ones shaping our next few years.

Keep an eye on them, take names for later :)

Even the smaller accounts right now have a much bigger say than usual as the can be seen and heard.

It is great to see smaller, newer accounts coming in and getting into the community faster than before.

This market has changed perspectives on the blockchain and refocused people on development rather than profit which can only help us going forward.

Imagine what many of the other projects are doing.

Those people are the ones that I follow on the site. The ones who are still here now. I've trimmed my list recently and surprisingly a lot of the people i followed stopped posting either 2 or six months ago. 20% of them in fact at the exact time the markets crashed both times.

So now i'm scouting for the people still active and still posting great content regardless of size. It's all about the commitment. It lets me engage more with the people adding real value in these tough times.

I fully agree with you. Investing doesn't guarantee success on here unless you have the support around you. What Asher has is not a 3000 euro account as you can't put a value on his support. Support and the standing in the community is priceless and can't be bought. This takes time and hours and hours of work. The good times will be happy times for those that have the support.

Indeed, having the same SP as asher is not being Asher. The networks and friends take time and investment outside of monetary values.

Exactly what I was trying to say. Money can't buy time and that is what an established user has on the platform.

A network of people who support each other and grow together in the hard times, are likely to laugh and enjoy together in the good times.

I agree with you, in this way the friendship relationship is formed, and that is something that can not be bought ... if you try to buy it, it would not be real, it would be superficial, only the experiences together is what create a true relationship

These relationships are going to be important in many ways in the future, some of them will be lifelong.

I have personally see this in the last couple of months as I increased my time for engagement throughout the ecosystem. It has brought me to learn more about engaging and with the decline in activity has led some of those I follow to my own posts which while I trust I have improved over time still have opportunities to be better. This engagement is much more valuable to me than my stake right now as it provides me access to feedback on how to improve myself. This is all to set the stage for what is to come!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It also helps take ownership over the project as it requires some degree of emotional investment into it. Sentiment drives markets, right?

Of all the points you listed, relationships matters most. Sometimes I think, even that relationship will expand beyond the steem blockchain and impact in real life. There is no amount of money that can buy a good relationship.

A lot of the relationships are already beyond the digital borders and will increasingly be so as the networks mingle. Money can't buy a lot of things in this world.

Im not sure I would buy in right now, but Im definitely holding my shares and powering up ;) I believe in the community. I think this is temporary and steem on being a good example, trying to motivate newbies to keep moving. I just love the community, as you said, this has no price! And I think in general if you are here, doesn't matter what the price is, I think the main reason to be at steemit is to have those people from all over the world coming from all kind of places (location and workwise) at one place, sharing their love and also content of course haha ;) If you are here you just have to love it and money is an extra.

I think this is temporary and steem on being a good example, trying to motivate newbies to keep moving.

I think this is the way too. It is difficult at times as prices fall but, them the breaks.

If you are here you just have to love it and money is an extra.

It is more of a compulsion ;)

Yes, but its not the first time the price falls. Im confident that it will go up again ;) and meanwhile we just use the time to power up and get visibility ;) Situation always depends on perspective :) lol, yes it is.

Hi @tarazkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.258 which ranks you at #223 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 368 contributions, your post is ranked at #24.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Added you to my eyecatcher post ..hope you get more recognition for your work :)

Thank you very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63892.45
ETH 3117.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87