You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A hard question to start off your monday - Maybe @ned could share his point of view on this (here is to hoping)

in #steem6 years ago

Steem has some real edges that appeal to some of my friends: particularly long-form posting, and feeds on most of the front ends that show you all the posts of your friends in chronological order. Most of us are old and remember when the whole internet was like that, and we liked it.

Those aren't even financial rewards, and yet I'm not really making a lot of effort to bring them over at this point. Everything here is so hard to understand that I feel like I need to give them a financial incentive to stick around and learn it. When I could give them a floor of $1/post I started to talk to some people, but now that it's more like forty cents I don't feel like that's enough.

Maybe that's a metric for how easy to use any of this is. In an ideal world interacting on Steem would be so easy and enjoyable I wouldn't feel the need to pay people to show up at all. We're not close to that but at least we can think about moving in that direction.

Sort:  

I've stopped onboarding myself, but really because it feels as if right now I don't have the time to dedicate all the work it requires to show someone the ropes on a one to one basis. I'm sure in that sense we probably are on the same boat.

your second paragraph-- so much! i recently invited an incredibly talented blogger and am kinda teaching her the ropes. i hope she stays, but what's the incentive? crazy ppl like me who got hooked early on in my steeming (when steem was at $8)... if you live in the US or another country with a high fiat currency value, the amount we can earn here (especially in the downtimes) doesn't incentivize many to come and then to stay and continue to produce.

40 cents is a lot more than I'm able to upvote someone with...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97