Discovering Steem - Steem Monsters, Steem Basic Income, SteamAuto, & More

in #steem6 years ago

G'day Team,

While I've been on Steem for around six months now, I'm only starting to get to grips with the plethora of useful tools and interesting projects that the community has to offer. While I rarely make this sort of post I wanted to highlight a few of the projects and tools I've stumbled across recently and give them a bit of a shout out!

SteemAuto

SteemAuto is my new favorite way to be lazy! It's a tool that allows you to create or follow curation trails, cast auto-votes, and even time your posts without having to come online. It's a simple concept but one that has the potential to save anyone plenty of time.

For example, I have a bad habit of not checking my feed, so people whose articles I love to read might take me between a day to a week to finally get around to voting on. With SteemAuto those days are in the passed. SteemAuto allows me to create a list of accounts that I'd like to vote on and every time they create a post the tool does the rest. You can also follow curation trails, where you select to mimic the vote of another selected account (like @steemstem).



1.PNG


Finally, SteemAuto has another really nifty tool which helps anyone (like me) who tends to be posting in the middle of the night for the rest of the world. Scheduled posts mean this is now a problem of the past. All you have to do is cut-and-paste your text and set a time and date! Such a simple concept, but so useful!

Steem Assistant

On the theme of being lazy... if you can't be bothered to filter through good and 'questionable' science content, if you can't keep track of users with a less-than-stellar reputation and if you really just want a easy well to tell if you're wasting your vote... give the new SteemSTEM Steem Assistant a go! The handy little chrome tool put together by @mobbs colour-codes profiles according to their reputation as judged by the steemstem curation team.

Red is bad, grey is questionable and white is... well normal. There's also a green catagory for special members of the steamstem community, with as-yet-unspecified importance.


1.PNG


Steem Basic Income (SBI)

SBI (run by the team at @steembasicincome) is an interesting little social experiment that's been gaining a decent amount of popularity recently. The concept is that members buy 'shares' (with Steem) in a central fund which re-distributes these 'shares' as votes. The twist here is that for each share you buy, you have to nominate a friend who also gets a share. This promotes the creation of contests and other community-interaction projects which really promotes the social nature of Steem.

While it's still in its early days and has a long way to go to 'prove itself', I think the concept is one that should be applauded and so far the execution is both transparent and user-friendly. For me, it's worth giving a chance, and I think I'll probably buy about 50 shares (that's 50 steem worth) over the next few months.

For those who've been paying attention, this also means I'll need to nominate fellow steemians. I'll probably just be picking people who're active on my posts, but who knows, maybe I'll be one of those folks who starts running competitions :P.

Check out their page here and feel free to give us your views.

Steem Monsters

It was only a matter of time before someone decided to make a card game on the steem platform, and so far I think they've really nailed it. As a bit of a nerd-at-heart, I jumped on this idea as soon as I saw it and am now the proud owner of quite a few of these cards.

I'm hoping the concept expands to include tournaments and battles soon, though I won't be surprised if it takes a while to smooth out all the wrinkles. On a larger scale, it'll be really interesting to see if the game brings more people to steem or if it simply draws people from the existing community. I'll also be interested to see if it takes off like cryptokitties and starts making some people lots and lots of $$$.

Regardless of the direction it takes, Steem Monsters is a valiant effort to do something new and refreshing within the community!

This post wouldn't be over without me showing off my collection, so here it is!


1.PNG

My Collection of Epic Monsters


Steem Reports

Now I'm well aware that almost everyone knows about this tool, but it's a new discovery to me. Steem Reports is pretty much a pair of binoculars combined with a magnifying glass, allowing you to both stalk and scrutinize steem accounts.

For examples these are my largest supporters in the last 31 days...


1.png

My voters in the last 31 days


The tool has a plethora of reports it can run from voting to flagging to a breakdown of who's voting for which of your articles. Perhaps my favourite tools, however, is this network graph, which shows who's voting for who in your network. As you can see, I owe some votes to @shaka, @geekgirl and @bue!


1.png


This Sick Banana Bread Recipe

Absolutely not related to steem at all! But a great recipe from COOKIE + kate! Here's my girlfriend's version :)


1.jpg

Thanks

Thanks for reading team and feel free to give any feedback. I'm always on the lookout for interesting new tools, communities and projects so if you're aware of anything interesting give me a heads up in the comments section!

Thanks team

-tfc


steemstem

Get involved today!

Sort:  

Didn't know about @mobbs Tool or Steem Reports. Thanks!

Nice post @tfcoates!
I was actually considering using SteemAuto but want to search more about it ...
Same goes for Monsters
Oh my, so many projects, so little time .. :)
Greetings to Australia!

Thanks so much :)

I think it's worth it all-in-all... you just have to trust the people you're auto-voting :P... Monsters is just me being nerdy!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 7 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 47 SBD worth and should receive 136 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

you should add @ginabot, she's my favorite tool.

And you really follow my curation trail? Crazy shit. :P

I do think I ran into that at one point... does it run through discord?

And of course man! How could I not :p

Yeah, it's a discord-based notifier for anything. A post by a certain author, or in a certain tag, replies, mentions, etc. etc. in real-time.

Do you know what's the vote value per share in steembasicincome?

Yeah, it's about 0.4 SBD per share per week... it's not as efficient as simply paying for votes, but then again it's not as 'cheaty' either. It takes about 12 months to make your 1 steem back so it's only for those who're in for the long game!

If its .4 per week, that's .3 per week after curation, you should be able to recover ur capital in about 5 weeks. Isn't 1 share equals 1 steem?

Sorry, my bad... 0.04!

That's really low. Probably not worth all that hassle.

Possibly, but i enjoy the concept of social experiments so i think ill stick with it for a while!!

Lots of helping tools that i need to read this agaian. So great article

Hi tfcoates, very clear post, I had seen several of these tools but I had not discovered what they were for, for example on several occasions I found publications that sent me to steemauto, but I never understood why, so I avoided going ahead. I'll check to see how to automate my vote in the blogs that I like, you're on my list mate, and schedule my post, since as you must have seen I publish in Spanish and English, always with 2 days of difference, I can post my publication in English in advance.

I installed the Steem assistant, but I never understood how it worked, all the posts I saw showed me the bar in white, so since I do not use Chrome normally, I did not keep trying, I'll have to restart it, to try it with more posts.

By the way, I'm on your Steem Report graphic, I did not know this tool, I use Steem World, but it seems more complete. I guess the bubble size of the node is proportional to the reputation or steem power, I look miserably small 😂

A very useful post, good work.

Haha just keep posting mate.

Yeah I found two people I wanted to vote last week that steemstems took had flagged as red. I did some more digging and sure enough their work was plaigerised

Ha ha, I was already testing with the post under the steemstem label and I found one with a red bar, I saw how it works.

Steemit is a great community of interesting and intelligent people. This article is a great recap of the resources that everyone one us should be utilizing. Cheers!

Thanks for sharing! A link to your post was included in the Steem.center wiki page Steem Ecosystem. Thanks and good luck again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84