You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Still in Defense of a High SBD: Why Witnesses Should not Implement Steem to SBD Conversions Now-

in #steem6 years ago

I had a $100 payout when Steem was around $2 and SBD was near $15. I invested over half of that back into Steem and Steem Power and still got over $200 cash. I was dedicated to the platform, but this payout opened my eyes to the potential and gave me a huge incentive to stay invested. It also gave me a great selling point when talking to friends and family about the platform.

My wife @kokivyivana also runs an Etsy business and is accepting Steem and SBD. So far she hasn't gotten any Steem/SBD orders. While it would be nice to have SBD stable for commerce, the few orders she may pick up using Steem/SBD are easy enough to handle manually Dollar/SBD conversions. You are 100% right that the platform isn't large enough to create a stable SBD on the grounds of increasing commerce. I can't speak for all of the business owners on Steem, but I know we much rather have a high SBD right now, and deal with the small inconvenience of conversion.

Sort:  

well said @theferalone!

A high SBD isn't bringing that much uncertainty to business, especially when it's trading higher than expected. And let's be serious - the majority of the value on this blockchain has nothing to do with commerce. Let's worry about commerce if it shows any sings of taking off, until then, let's worry about the currency and the blockchain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63173.85
ETH 3147.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87