You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fully Charged and Upvoting Resumed

in #steem6 years ago

I did the math for the amount of time that I've spent on Steemit and I've been earning less than $1/hr. I could have gotten a part time job making $10/hr and had enough money to buy a lot of silver. That's just the way it goes though, and maybe one day this all will be worth more. I'm not holding my breath, but I'm still hoping.

Sorry you couldn't keep the newspapers going. I know from having talked to you about it before that you really enjoyed it. Hopefully either Steemit takes off for you or you find something where you can productively and make use of your talents and make some money!

Sort:  

There were some aspects of the newspaper business I liked. I liked layout. I liked the people that worked with me. I liked giving people information I thought was important for them to know. I liked writing the very occasional article or editorial. I liked the income.

I didn't like the smalltown politics, the people who were in trouble who would complain about it showing up in the paper, having to make corrections or the rare retraction, some of the people that worked for me didn't work out, worrying about whether or not someone would finally figure out how to take our main source of revenue away, and the fact that even though I didn't work that many hours once things were lean and mean, I was always tethered to it.

Couldn't really go on vacation for longer than four days without taking work with me. I put newspapers to bed from Puerto Vallarta one year and Mexico City another time. I did it from the hotel room in Idaho and a friend's house in Utah. That was kind of cool to do, but still, I would have just liked to leave it for someone else, but I never got to that point after the partnership dissolved and I ended up firing the managing editor. It was easier to do it myself. Didn't have to wonder why we kept missing deadlines.

Other than the income, which is a big one, and the camaraderie with the two women who were with me until the end, I don't really miss it that much.

I'd still rather be doing it, though. :)

So, if you're making less than a $1 an hour now, when Steemit makes it to $10, your work will be worth about five times that, and when it hits $20, it will be worth $10 times that. That's one thing that keeps me going. Realizing that there's at least a potential, and hey, it's as good as anything out there, that STEEM finally takes off. I say finally when it's barely two years old and Bitcoin took a few years to find some footing and didn't go insane until the last year or so.

So, when Jerry Banfield is proven right and STEEM is sitting at $21,000 USD, we'll all be laughing with him. :)

There are always certain things we like about work and other things that we don't I could understand it being frustrating doing a newspaper in a small town where everyone knows everyone. When something bad happens, I could see it being challenging to have their story in the paper.

Being tethered to a business is a downside of owning your own and not having someone else who you can hand the reigns off to. Can't miss the deadlines and someone has to do the work. I can see how you would not miss too much from it. I can also see how you'd miss it.

I doubt that Steem will hit $21,000, but who knows? I'm going to need it to hit $40 at least to consider it a success from a financial perspective. From a friendship perspective, I'm already there, so that's a plus. The people are what make Steemit worth it for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63122.36
ETH 3072.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86