You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEM DOLLAR Becomes Redundant as Haircut Hits 38%

in #steem5 years ago

@smooth, you're one of the people who know the most about how the Steem blockchain works, so maybe you could ask a (slightly) related question: why are the rewards being paid out assuming a median price of $0.40 when the 3.5 day average has been well below that for a week now? Is that also because SBD is now pegged to Steem?

image.png
Steemnow

Sort:  

It is a glitch in the UI that is being investigated. In fact the rewards are being paid out in the correct amount but the UI is displaying them with the wrong exchange rate (yes, indirectly caused by the SBD peg switch).

I appreciate your insight on this. I wrote a post talking about this stuff, but no one seemed to know.

I'm limited in the programming knowledge that I have and the tools that I know how to use, so I just look at sites like SteemWorld and then compare to Steemit.com. From what I see on Steemworld, for my last post that paid out, I received 0.55 STU as my portion. You can see from my rewards at the top of this screenshot that I received 1.38SP for that post. So I divided .55 by .4 (the listed median price) and got 1.38. So to me it seems like it's actually paying out at the .4 level.

image.png

I doubt-checked this with my pending rewards in my Steemit.com wallet which shows that I have 1.475 SP waiting to be claimed which is the SP from the post, plus the unclaimed curation from my votes. (There's another .01 not in the screenshot, but taking rounding into consideration, it's the same.)

image.png

I claimed the rewards and the SP in my account increased by 1.475 which is the amount that SteemWorld said (and that's not as much as it should be if it were based on the actual median price.)

So if it's just a UI issue, when does the other SP go? And when does it get credited to our accounts?

There is no extra SP. The reward fund is in STEEM from start to finish, and the share allocated to the payout is equal to the amount that ends up paid out. The STU/$ value is just something that the UI estimates and the steemit.com UI (along with most if not all of the others) is estimating it incorrectly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60955.99
ETH 2884.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63