You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can SMTs and Oracles make steemit and other dapps content driven?

in #steem6 years ago

Some time ago I had a chance to discuss my concerns with @ned off chain, and was told he'd address them prior to the release of SMTs. Months passed.... I felt I'd been brushed off, just as you did. I kept ranting.

Then @ned spoke in Korea. He not only addressed my concerns - he agreed with my assessment! I have been haply scarfing down my discouraged words ever since. I see SOC (SMTs, Oracles, and Communities) as a single tool that potentiates massively parrallel communities (websites, organizations, whatever..) that can deliver rewards based on whatever criteria and focus they want, and this allows the far greater benefits of society beyond mere finance to be those foci.

IMHO, having but one community forces people to choose between emuneration and things they might prefer, but must neglect in that circumstance due to financial necessity. The eventuation of myriad communities allows folks to spend what attention they must on necessary finance in the requisite space, but also to separately invest in those aspects of society they actually value more and seek to emphasize.

I believe almost all people value other things more than money, and that SOC will prove this quickly. Votebots, selfvoting, and etc.. will be enabled in some communities, and those communities will be avoided by almost everyone when communities that don't permit them are available and also focus on particular social endeavors that people do actually care about and want to encourage.

SOC creates the possibility of evolution of social media on the underlying framework of Steem, much like the Cambrian explosion was built on the Eukaryotic innovation. I anticipate an amazing and wonderful explosion of communities and society as a result.

I cannot wait.

Thanks!

Sort:  

It's awesome to know I'm not the only one genuinely excited.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90