I'm Curious: Why Are You Here? And Why Have You Stayed?

in #steem6 years ago

Steemit_whyareyouhere2.png

No, I don't mean in the larger existentialist sort of way...but why are you here on Steemit?

Did you arrive because you were looking for an alternative to Bitcoin?

Maybe because you couldn't afford BTC and were looking for an alternate way to get involved in the cryptocurrency craze?

Are you here because you see a business opportunity?

Or maybe you are here because you want to support the decentralized alternative crypto system?

Or is there some deeper personal reason that has nothing to do with any of the above??

So now that we have some idea as to why you are here..... here's the next question:

divider.png

Now comes the BIG question:

Why did you STAY?

Are you making money yet?

Has steemit changed your life in any way yet?

If so, how?

What has proven to be the most important reason for you to be active here - the revenue potential or the community itself?

How often do you post?

How often do you comment?

What do you like the most about Steemit?

The least?

divider.png

So now you are probably wondering why I am asking?

Well, I would be if I were you ;-)

Part of it is because I am simply a naturally curious person - I like to know what makes people tick and things work. And part of it is because I am a fintech geek, and fascinated by the cryptocurrency world...and as a business person, the economic opportunity is pretty intriguing, too!

But the bigger reason is that this is truly a phenomenal community being built here.

There are certainly many larger social networks out there - but I don't know of any that have the potential to be as life-changing and disruptive economically as Steemit.

I have only been involved for a couple of days, but what I have seen so far is nothing short of astounding.

I am not sure if the majority of the people here even realize the potential of what is being built here - but to those that do?

Kudos to all of you for being true visionaries and building a path to financial freedom for all, not just the select few.

Now - have to get the wings ready for the Super Bowl ;-)

But hoping that some of you will take the time to respond, and give me more insight on what makes this place tick so well!

venture55_steem_logo.png

Follow me and I will follow you back!

You can connect with Melody at Venture55.com, her new community for entrepreneurs. Melody is a lifelong entrepreneur, and works from her log home on 5 acres in Cincinnati. She shares the home and life with her hubby, and 3 rescue kitties. She's spent 20 years as an international payments consultant, and runs several online enterprises.

Sort:  

Thanks for your article. Like you, I love to understand what makes people tick. Actually, listening/reading explanations from others often helps me investigate what's making me tick.

And what a great place Steemit is for getting all kinds of perspectives about all kinds of topics from all kinds of people. This is a far more interesting place than other platforms. And I look forward to getting to know lots of Steemit contributors.

I have to agree that this is much more interesting than most online communities today! And certainly more friendly and helpful!

Well commenting is a plus, if you really want to become an active member of the community. I especially love to read people's comments on my posts. To answer your question, I stayed because this platform is simply amazing!

Not only do I get to write - (which I have always loved doing) now I get paid for it too. So much knowledge and things to learn from on here, and so many talented people out there. I believe Steemit is the place to be! Welcome Melody, good to have you.

Totally agree with you on all points! I have loved writing since childhood so this is a great platform for me to indulge myself and get paid for having fun. Great combination ;-)

Simply the best! Looking forward to your posts, I'm sure they'll be amazing seeing as
this is nothing new to you. Afterall, you've been here since dinosaurs walked the web. 😄

I am here because a friend of mine told me to check it out. I missed blogging a lot. I usually blogged once per day like 10 years ago.
And I stayed because it is interesting. You can get a few dollars for a coffee with your friends and so on :)

I arrived via an email that arrived in my inbox with the headline, "Post here, get paid ... simples." Intrigued I clicked through and read about a woman that was writing interesting posts and getting paid for doing something she loved, it also meant she could work from home looking after her family. I wanted a platform where I could be honest in my writing and a place where an audience is open and welcome to those that take part.

I stayed because I love the entrepreneurial spirit that surrounds the Steemit community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61955.50
ETH 2904.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71