You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Argument Against Ads

in #steem5 years ago

Completely agree, I think resorting to ads is not a bad idea but it is a short-sighted bandaid if people think it would solve a lot of steemit's core issues.

Again, I absolute agree with you that user adoption needs to be at a better rate. Which means, new users should have an easier time acclimatizing.

To be honest, Steemit has a HIGH BARRIER of entry in terms of learning its functionalities, what to do to succeed, and its more gamey system.

When I onboard friends I've invited, it takes me a LONG TIME to explain all the little details such as Steem Power, Voting Power, Resource Credits, etc.

The Trending Page is not helping either. It is currently creating a false illusion of potential earnings that most people can't even access ever... unless you're a whale. Or friend of a whale.

After one or two weeks, new users drop off, disappointed and disillusioned, creating not only a steady decline in engagement but also a kind of stoppage of brand name proliferation out there, in the world outside of Steemit.

Imagine if the average user has a good experience and is able to be transformed into another ambassador for the platform. You invite Friend A, Friend A has a great experience and is doing well, and Friend A will invite Friend B, whilst you continue to invite Friend X, and so on.

But such ripple effect is not seen with Steemit's new user integration experience. You invite Friend A, and Friend A has a so-so or less than satisfactory engagement and the flow stops there. Then you invite Friend B, and the result continues across a linear graph instead of a compound effect.

Basic bottom line is: Steemit has a lot of issues, but new user adoption rate is probably one of the core ones that would need to be fixed. Ads will help provide monetary resources, but will it also have adverse effects for new users?

I think, with what reduced resources Steemit have, there needs to be a refocusing on what is bare bone operational needs and what is the key strategy to move the blockchain forward.

I hear a lot of talk about inventing some kind of business app or a kind of breakthrough tech that would live and breathe off Steem, that's a great dream, of course, and one that I would like to see happening, but who will be the customers for this new app/ tech? With Steemit's current population, we are pinning a HUGE expectation on this "dream" solution.

Um, sorry for rambling, @midlet XD

Seems like I always use your posts to form my thoughts....

Sort:  

Haha, no problem @veryspider. It's good to know I'm not talking to myself :) I think you're totally right and I've got a few ideas, but they're pretty large in scope and I wonder if I could rally enough troops to get anything done. I guess that's one of the big challenges in a decentralized community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83