Thoughts on steem

in #steem5 years ago

23rg5m.jpg

How about that Steem price? Is it low enough for ya?

Yeah it's a low price, but its a great time for buying it, so I did today

IMG_20181126_160651.jpg

I will be getting some more later this week if the prices stays low

Steem is still fucked, there are all sorts of problems:

  • No RCs for new users
  • Spam
  • Shit content still being heavily rewarded
  • No leadership
  • Promoting the supposed "lack of censorship" has brought some pretty shitty extremist content.
  • Most people are more interested in using their vote power to upvote themselves rather than downvote shit.

Shout outs to @berniesanders and @bloom for downvoting bullshit hateful anti science nonsense. Bloom's response to one may indeed become mine too:

As you requested, I leave a comment concerning the downvote.
I think it's appropriate to flag posts/comments that deny well-established scientific or historical facts, examples include Holocaust denial (see also here), Climate science denial (see also here), Flat eath etc.
Also, I prefer to avoid discussions with deniers about the topics of their denialism, because it gives the impression that there is a debate where in fact there is no debate. And it's not worth my time to debunk the denier's arguments that have already been debunked hundreds of times before. While some deniers are just victims of disinformation, lack education or intelligence, or suffer from some mental condition, others do it to further a political agenda, for the purpose of trolling or for profit.
quote

I think that may well be my new policy. I have been bored at night and go troll/harass people posting under the pizzagate or qanon or vaccine tags, but that's just enabling them really.

YJhINo3.jpg
source

I don't care that nuts post on here.

It used to be they posted a bunch of zero cent blogs and quit, now people like fulltimegeek and information war are bankrolling them. Most of the users I saw supporting Fulltimegeek in his beef with Bernie were bigots and crazies who got fulltime geek upvotes and delegations for content that would have otherwise made nothing. I don't think holocaust deniers or people who make posts like this deserve anything but total fucking contempt

IMG_20181126_013401.jpg

I don't want to Steem to be known as the place antivaxer/flat earth/chemtrails/pizzagate posters make money. It's already hard to onboard people, making it a refuge for toxic content that other sites don't want in no way helps improve Steemit.

Expecting me to care about the free speech rights of the KKK is the stupidest thing I have heard in months. Should I respect the rights of Jihadists to post here too? No one seems to mind when Muslim terrorist recruiters get their sites shut down, only when it is white right wing extremists is the issue of free speech brought up. It seems like the exact same thing to me.

For some reason I still love steem though.

I don't want this be a negative post,I wouldn't be here if I hated Steem, there is always something going on. Lots of ways to make more steem. The underlying idea of Steemit is still cool. Other coins I can only make money if they go up in value, Steem I can keep earning more. I don't see any serious legitimate contender for the "next Steem" either.

I continue to alter my strategy toward Steem, these days I try to make sure I:

1) Post on Busy.org and use the busy tag.

I think you might only be able to get one upvote a day from busy pay but its bigger than my own vote

IMG_20181126_162408.jpg

2) Also try and post on steemhunt daily

IMG_20181126_163354.jpg

You'll notice in this one I got both a nice size Steemhunt vote but also a dollar plus vote from another hunter because on Steemhunt curation is more incentivized, the higher your vote the more hunt coins you make. Most of my vote power gets used on Steemhunt. Hunt tokens may end being worthless but I made Steem from it so it was worth it to me.

3) Also join Steem-ua.

The vote from them varies based on your UA (User Interaction score) but the vote from them is decent.

IMG_20181126_162920.jpg

My own vote is only 5 cents, but Steem-UA gave me 22 cents. You can get a vote a day from them for only 250 SP delegation. I have done the delegate to a communal bot for an upvote thing before and this one has had the best return.

I don't like to delegate out too much SP because I like to have my vote power too. Users with 20 thousand SP who have a 1 cent vote because they delegated most of it away are useless, they can't reward anyone else, or even defend themselves in a flag war.

The Steem basics still remain the same

  • Comment on other people's posts as often as you can, you can get decent upvotes and it gets your name out there

  • When you see a nice upvote from someone else, go to their blog and give them a good one back

  • Make as many friends as you can, preferably with people who are going to stay.

Most of the people I became friends with here have quit, but so have most of my enemies. Today's Minnows could be tomorrow's whales you should try make lots and lots of friends here, but try to focus on people who are upwardly mobile.

A lot of people will advise you to join groups and upvote circles, I have seen lots of those groups die out and people in the circle jerk power down and quit. Half the Steem Apps that were huge news a year ago are not updated anymore. I am wary of putting in a bunch effort into the next big thing here and it goes nowhere. Like Dlive, glad I didn't put any effort into that.

Steem is not impossible, you can do well here. You just need to stick it out. I personally think its a great opportunity rather than the end of the world. I hate to use the cliche, but it's true, just look at how much steem you are making, not it's current value. I have a job I don't need steem for anything, I consider it more like an speculative investment. Trying to live off Steem now would be crazy, you should always think of it as side gig

Thanks for reading

Sort:  

Cheers. @bloom's comment is a breathe of fresh air.

There's a growing amount of fascist and racist content on this platform, under the guise of 'freedom of speech'. The losers behind these ideologies tend to make their vitriolic and anti-semitic banter only to cry crocodile tears when called out and asked to take responsibility for their trash.

An unfortunate fact, when you google "Gab" (a fascist social network) on google, guess what website google refers you to? Steemit. Cryptocurrencies in general are infused with alt-right sensibilities, as their investment was and continues to be largely heralded by 4chan.

anyways. cheers, which you luck on the platform.

well only fascists and other form of alt-right think markets work, who else would be all for crypto smh

lol i got a fuck load of debt. getting lucky on speculative investments in crypto would save me decades of monthly payments

One of the wisest and sanest posts I've seen in the bear market so far. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

The funny thing is, the best weapon against all this pseudo garbage is not to try and flag it away (will never happen) but to raise the legit science above it. I'm on a shilling rampage at the moment so I'll point out that what we at @steemstem do is precisely that, and we've been doing it for over 2 years and have never gone away.

In fact we're growing in scope and ambition, if not the userbase (because Users are determined by price, and price is determined by Bitcoin. Nice), yet we have consistently gone underappreciated in the upper echelons of Steemit.inc. It seems most people are vaguely aware of us as a highly reputable team, but that's been about the extent of it for 2 years.

It's pretty frustrating when you see a million SP go to some project that magically pops up overnight, and ultimately amounts to nothing after a few months, when there are projects like ours and many others that are genuinely in it for the betterment of Steem, who basically get zero (or less)

I agree with you in that Steem should not be allowed to become a refuge for extremist bullshit. How to do that is to have the community flat that shit to oblivion.

There's never been leadership here. That's been a problem since day one. And glad to see I am not the only one irritated by the conspiracy theorists here.

The fact that the site still says beta after nearly three years is very telling.

That's been a problem since day one. And glad to see I am not the only one irritated by the conspiracy theorists here.

B-b-b-but, the human cloning paedophiles are run by the queen of england!

!00 percent ^^^^

I really did not know that about Steem hunt thats pretty awesome, im going to give it a go very soon! Do you always get a steem hunt upvote or is it luck of the draw?

It isnt every time, but there are things that increase your chances like posting in the morning

Unless a person is merely stating their opinions on the conspiracy topics I agree with you that these things dont have much place here. It is mostly repeated info disinformation and is not exactly an original thought because it is already all over youtube. Im in it for the long haul too. When I first started I had hoped steemit could pay my bills but im just not there yet! Good thing i have a day job now...but I mainly do this for fun/entertainment and dont expect much return for at least 3-5 years.

I like your post... from the heart to the heart type of thing!

Maybe I just read different stuff or have been lucky enough not to come across flat earthers etc etc. Yeah flag that stuff for sure. I'm a little bit scared of doing it and if I don't want hell to rain back at me but if I saw the stuff that you were talking about I would definitely flag it. I really liked this post I thought it was honest and on the money.

Posted using Partiko Android

I just found out about all this stuff going on myself today not so much flat earth, but more the racism side that seems to be going on and supported by some users https://steemit.com/hate/@bearbear613/delegate-to-me-and-i-ll-flag-the-most-racist-bullshit-on-steem-blockchain

Glad people are being aware of this all going on now, I didn't see it as an issue because I didn't know the scope.

Far out. Part of me really doesn't want to know.. Part of me wants to go flag like crazy!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99