You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are the selfless delaying the inevitable/essential?

in #steem6 years ago

Thanks for using the #nobidbot tag and raising awareness of this initiative!

I’m still not sure if n2 is the best solution but at least it’s worth discussing again because we really do need something to curb self voting and bidbots. I think a whole week would be devestating to the platform, 2 days maybe?

We should be encouraging people to act altruistically but the whole system shouldn’t be dependent on altruism, even those who care about others should still feel free to work towards their own benefit without it creating new such a massive gap in the distribution of power.

Let’s keep this conversation going!

Sort:  

No worries! I didn't know it was your creation, nice idea I will continue using it for most of my posts.

2 days / a week - don't think it would take long. I guess Steemit inc. are working on SMTs, HiveMind, and Communities as those have been top of the list for a while now.

When released, the next priority to me should be another look at the curation/creator rewards split (50/50?) and the rewards curve - but perhaps not implement them both at the same time eh? :)

I’m worried about a 50/50 split as I think it’ll encourage more curation based on who is popular and discourage whales from upvoting minnows even further when there is so much to gain from upvoting users who always make it to trending.

My creation? I guess! I have a lot of great ideas I try not to take too much credit for because I’d like collaborators more than followers. I also have too many ideas to focus on them all so I try to just put them out there and see what happens. Thanks to @bycoleman and yourself, it seems this one is taking off. I’ve been trying to populate a discord channel where we brainstorm solutions to problems at steemit (and perhaps some off steemit) and ways to help create more dolphins based on organic bahavior, quality content and contribution. It will also be a place for minnows to gather support on any project with greatly benefits other users. #steemitzombies #nobidbot and the Deadpost Initiative are my projects which I started the channel with but I hope to see people coming up with and populating their own chats within the channel. We’d love to have you there.

https://discord.gg/RmE6mG5

I’m worried about a 50/50 split as I think it’ll encourage more curation based on who is popular and discourage whales from upvoting minnows even further when there is so much to gain from upvoting users who always make it to trending.

Possibly, but the very best curation rewards lie in spotting a post early - most whale posts are covered with auto-votes, which may change a little once the next fork arrives.

Just has a look at the #deadpool post, another awesome idea!

I'll add the discord to my list, I'm not that active there but will try to pop in when I can - thanks for the invite :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68465.88
ETH 3766.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66