Lessons Learned Experimenting in Steem

in #steem5 years ago

From the beginning of Steem my first interest has always been the experiment.

image.png

I did a previous "Lessons" post, but it was time to update it.

How do you get a bunch of people from different social and economic backgrounds together and moving towards a goal?
Or how do we all work on our own goals together?

The answer is.. Very Painfully and Slowly

On to the Lessons, some you may relate to, others not so much:

I've always given a lot of lip service to Freedom, but I have no idea how it works
Freedom sounds a lot sexier than it feels
Wormhole is one word
NinjaMines haunt long after the mining is done
Some days I like drama, but usually only when I support the current drama
Other days, I am annoyed that you have a different agenda than me and feel entitled to write about it. (How dare you)
Stealing by any other name still smells like stealing
Ignoring problems isn't the same as solving them
Talking about problems is not the same as solving them
The smartest person doesn't always have the best answer
We are punished by our sins, not for our sins (I'm not religious it holds a deeper meaning)
Decentralization Matters
Memes have names
Funny people are a lot more interesting than serious people who think they are smart
If you don't know where you are going and why you will likely run in circles
Stupidity and sabotage are hard to tell apart
Trolls and leadership spawn as fast as you can eliminate them
We all think our vision is the best one
Culture is cultural
I will never write a novel
I don't hold grudges, until the day I realize I am holding a grudge
I have many more control issues than I was aware of
I can only control me
I can experience leadership without input in more exciting places than this one!

I have learned most of these lessons before.
It all feels repetitive now.
I'm not sure if I still need to experiment or not.

Thanks for being part of this experiment. It's been amazing.
I'll keep posting, but it feels different now.

@whatsup

Sort:  

Well this is a sad post. I still think that we have the potential to pick things up and move forward in a better direction.

Nah, from the outside it is unlikely to look any different. I am just giving up the idealism and dealing with the reality.

That feeling when it turns out you are not driving what you thought you were driving...

Freedom sounds a lot sexier than it feels

You're not grabbing hold of the fun bits then ! lol

Somehow nobody had this account yet, which seems a little strange. Mine now.

Thinking I might build a mining game where you dig for ninjas.

Experiments succeed and they also fail. There are grains of knowledge to be gleaned from both outcomes.

Am I a leader or a follower, smart or funny? I don't know as I am still deep in the throes of experimentation. I know I started here as an introvert but have since found some semblance of a voice, though now, there are few here who will listen.

Will that still my voice? No, of course not lol....I'll still be here, as out of sync as ever, misspeaking my jokes and showing up for class regardless. Here...have an apple

If we learned did we fail?

hahaa I think not...we just took the long way around

I hope paranoid bogans haven't been messing with your headspace again...

.. Very Painfully and Slowly

That would be why change often takes generations and that's just in one country!

I can most certainly relate to a few of these! Others seem to have passed me by. Thank you for a good giggle.

Posted using Partiko Android

[email protected] did chuckle over some of them. A list that I am sure we can all relate to and they do repeat themselves.

lol, yes they do. Each time making me feel foolish for having to learn it again.

Maybe we are at the stage in steemit evolution, where the opening party has fizzled out and everyone is wondering what to do next..
Maybe its time to realize the party was just that, and now it's time for pragmatic reassessment.
Not a party anymore, but a satisfying long term build...

Hey, I'm trying to be philosophical!
(I'm feeling a bit like you, to be honest)

Yeah... that is a really good point.
Moving past the idea into realism is a real point in every project! Good point.

This post has been included in the latest edition of SOS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



We are punished by our sins, not for our sins (I'm not religious it holds a deeper meaning)

Shesh, I have to remember that.
Especially when discussing with my religion teacher about nihilism and luther's point of view.

I love this post!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02