WHY STEEMIT ROCKS + STEEM SYNDROME(WHALES VS. MINNOWS)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem6 years ago

lee-jung-min-decoration-1090766_640.jpg

"An hour of Humour a week won’t kill you", so they say. Steemit as a decentralized platform is honestly a wonderful place to be. Actually, it means serious business and investment; but it also means fun.

Let me take you through my initial journey on steemit. My account was created a few months ago though it remained inactive for a period of time. It hasn’t been up to two months since I started posting.

When I saw someone make some cool dollars on steemit, I was woooowed out and I sought for my steemit account details which I had backed up safely. I became a believer.tree-frogs-517346_640.jpg

Optimism could sometimes be good but sometimes its frustrating. Without much knowledge of how the platform worked, I hurriedly began to write some cool poetry and other little posts I could come up with.
How I dreamt of a 100 dollars for my post was something spooky. Something I couldn’t stop laughing about. laughter-794305_640.jpgI woke up to see a reverse kinda hundred dollars. It was a beautiful 0.00. what a lovely balance.
directory-466935_640.jpg
Optimism said “relax kid, you’re on the blockchain, something’s gotta click” And I obeyed the voice in my head. So I decided to keep posting with certain tags hoping to get up to 20 upvotes as an encouragement that I was doing some good stuff. Well, I got disappointed.

Soon after, I learnt about the reputation system on steemit and how your reputation was designed to grow. Since then, I became obsessed with the big 60’s and 70’s. all I cared about was how to get someone’s attention. Some big guy gotta vote me into the game!

Well, it works for some people though. As a newbie, it didn’t seem to work forme. Had seem a couple of guys actually beg for votes on comment sections and humour had it’s way again. Begging for votes is good. A please would actually do. But it gets really funny when you see someone get flagged for an “ upvote me because I upvoted you” Lol. Would I be flagged for saying that those 60’s and 70’s who flag such frustrated newbies are a bit mean?

Well I have to continue my story before my battery goes off. After two weeks of trying without much progress, my reputation score sucked to hell and back! I wanted it to grow magically. I never ceased to look at steemd.com for statistics concerning my account @wordwithhoney.
Sorry for mentioning my username, I don’t intend to be followed
|
|.

But it won’t harm you to vote me right now.(another upvote me strategy I learnt last week. Lmaoo)

|
|
|
Then I learnt about bots! Ahhhh yes!the cry of a happy newbie-minnow! I knew a way to rise a bit faster! I gotta pay some bot and earn me some respect on the platform! Yeah boy!lol-706869_640.jpg
|
|
It went on and on until I saw a nice post by one of the big guys on steemit. If I had actually mentioned his username here, I’m sure I would get flagged. But I’ll mention his name without an “@”. It’s the Markymark. He wrote a post which I can’t really recall. It encouraged proper growth and positive contribution on the platform. I got encouraged a bit and my wild bot fantasies were numbed for a short while.

After I had used some post promotion methods which seemed to work a bit,I saw a tiny rise in my reputation score and guess what? The steem syndrome caught hold of me! I automatically looked down on the smaller reputation scores, paying more attention to the 60’s and 70’s and lesser attention to the little ones like me.
Well, it’s funny to me. I guess my sense of humour might infected with minnow shit. Lol

Right now, I wanna say something to all those little men like me out there.
“find a nice community on steemit and enjoy yourself. Make friends and have some bloody fun”
Yea yea!
To the whales out there, the cats are gonna swim soon! Have fun everyone!
Its night over here, so ummm, “good steemy night” steemians.

Vote me for witness. Lol.

smile-1539196_640.jpg
Sorry I meant don’t forget to upvote me.

Sort:  

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 87.48% Upvote. Send 0.5 SBD or STEEM to @steemvote

I wish those minnows that beg for Upvote will coming across this your post and the likes of it to take a decisive lessons and take correction from your post on this particular issue of upvote and ways forward strategicly.

I have learned some lesson from your post Thanks a lot.

i hope so too friend. Steemit is so much fun. Money will surely follow fun☺☺

Congratulations @wordswithhoney! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65262.74
ETH 2937.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68