7 Reasons To Enjoy The Falling Steem Prices

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Today, Steem prices have touched this year’s lowest. Many of us are very depressed due to a long bear market. During these times, many Steemians tend to take a break from Steeming due to their disappointment with the market.

But on the contrary, there is a case to celebrate this fall. If you’re an optimist, you will obviously see the blessing in disguise. But for all those Steemians who have decided to stay away from Steeming, here I’m listing few of the reasons for why a temporary fall in Steem prices should be considered a boon:

You will receive the same amount of Steem:


First, I’d like to clarify that you shouldn’t think that now you’re making fewer Steem from your posts. You earn almost the same amount of Steem that you were earning while prices were mooning.

E.g. If your post earns $10 STU (after curation), when Steem price is 1 USD; you get 5 SBD + 5 USD worth of Steem i.e. your payout is 5 SBD + 5 Steem.

But when Steem prices doubles to 2 USD (and assuming that you received the same number & power of votes on your post), you will get about $20 STU of payout (after curation) because the value of votes too increase with the increase in Steem prices. So you get 10 SBD + 10 USD worth of Steem i.e. 10 SBD + 10/2 = 5 Steem.

So in both cases you received 5 Steem. However, I agree that you made a slight loss on no. of SBD received when prices fell. But take respite in the fact that lesser printing of SBD during this period should result in its higher market prices. Hence you shouldn’t incur any losses due to temporary fall in Steem prices. If you don’t agree with me on it, never mind. Check the next point for a better alternative for how to get a better value from lower SBD payout.

Best time to convert your SBD into Steem


This is the best time to convert your SBD into Steem. As prices of both are almost equal, you will get almost equal no. of Steem for your SBD. So when the price of Steem soars, you will thank yourself for doing this conversion.

In my previous example, if you convert all your SBD into Steem; you will get equal amount of Steem. When you get 5 SBD, you will get about 5 Steem (if Steem prices equals SBD) and when you receive 10 SBD, when Steem prices are double, then too you will receive 5 Steem when you convert SBD to Steem (if SBD prices are half of Steem prices). So you won’t incur any loss due to the falling market.

You will receive votes with higher VW:


You must be wondering how this is possible. But this relates to human psychology. I’ve observed that when Vote Value rises due to rise in Steem price; people tend to vote your posts with a partial vote weight. E.g. a follower who used to give you a 100% vote when his/her vote was worth only $0.50; he/she will tend to give you only 50% vote when his/her vote value increases to $1.00.

This is purely based on my observations. The reasoning behind it (as I understand) is an arbitrary personal assumption by most people for certain amount of payout being a reasonable reward for an author. Therefore, your followers with this mindset will vote you with a higher vote weight when they see their vote value declining. So enjoy the higher payout during this period.

You receive a higher share of reward pool


Yes, you will receive a higher share of reward pool during depressing times like these. It’s because many Steemians take a break from Steeming or reduce their frequency of posts as they think that their efforts are not being adequately rewarded during these times compared to when the Steem prices were higher. With decreased activity, fewer votes are cast during this period. This results in proportionately higher influence of the votes that are being cast on the total reward pool. So everyone’s vote is valued slightly more than it was when there was more activity.

Great time to invest



Enjoy the slide 😊

Times like these are God sent for people looking to invest in Steem and powering up their accounts. New Steemians often find themselves at a loss when they see their account has negligible Steem Power compared to oldies. But they can’t Power Up significantly when Steem prices are too high. Buying Steem and powering up during these times will not only result in higher Steem Power for your account but will also increase your account value when prices get higher.

Do I need to state the thumb rule for investing is “Buy Low and Sell High”?

Re-distribution of Steem


Did you notice that mostly people having significant amount of Steem are the sellers during these times? So if whales sell part of their large holdings during these times and newbies buy from them; it will result in a better distribution of Steem Power (assuming that the buyers power up their accounts with it). Thus, this will contribute in de-centralization and uniform distribution of Steem power, which in turn will make this platform stronger in the long run.

Doubters Leave and True Believers Thrive


It’s obvious that during the time of shake-out, people who are not very confident of this project will make an exit and people who have a strong faith will buy Steem despite the falling market. This will restructure and re-organize the Steem community. It will be good to see more believers in the community than non-believers. People who are angry with this project or those who have lost faith in it should better leave it. Only the faithfuls should be rewarded when the Steem prices moon.

So whether it's up or down, let's enjoy



It's said that make your hay while the Sun shines. But the wise know Sun always shines somewhere in this world. Let's not give up, and learn to enjoy the ride whether up or down.

What do you think about the falling Steem price?

  • Do you panic and stop writing because of falling Steem prices?
  • Can you think of any other reason for Steeming when Steem prices are tumbling?

I’d love to hear your state of mind and reasoning behind it.

Footer GIF xyzashu.gif

Sort:  

Now is a great time to buy Steem and get paid to lease it to people like me. :) lol

Yeah, great time to buy but lease for a long contract, when the prices are higher 😜

When I read the title of your post the only thing that crossed my mind was, "how could I enjoy to lose money?" but you made me recover the hope. It's a great time to invest and to keep contributing to the community because when the prices arises again, we will beneficiate a lot..

I haven't stop writing because of the steem prices because I always try to think that everything that goes down eventually will have to go up, so I try to stay positive and keep giving to this community my contribution because I like this platform and I think it has a lot of potential.

Beautiful thoughts!
Earning Steem is not the ONLY reason to write. Keep writing for the sake of writing. Trust me, you learn and grow with your writing too.

Keep contributing, keep Steeming and you will love it more than you did before!

I second it. I have no reason to quit this platform. But I have sound reasons to refrain from making quality posts. But those reasons in no way are connected to the falling price of the steem!

At times I feel like my efforts are being nullified when I see disproportionate dollar values on my posts. But again this platform gives me the opportunity to grow myself as a good person. For a person like me who had studied only in government schools in India, steemit sets a stage to get acquaintance with post-modern technology! I love steemit!

I love the term "post-modern technology" 😊. Yeah, Steem is just that!

Keep writing irrespective of the 'quality'. Don't judge your own writing for quality, everything is 'quality' ...let others decide on that.

So if whales sell part of their large holdings during these times and newbies buy from them; it will result in a better distribution of Steem Power...

It's very true with what you're saying. There's quite even distribution during this time and the

winner(whales🐳) takes all
funtion will be taken care of if not beign eliminated.

We all hope for greater comeback of STEEM😉

Yeah, so don't panic if Steemit CEO is powering down his 1.8 million. It hardly matters.
Steem will rise for sure.

I enjoyed this read very in formative! Thankyou! :D

You're welcome!

Hello, I must tell you that I have enjoyed your publication completely. It seems to me that everything you have said is correct, it is not time for non-believers. Personally I think that life is a roller coaster with ups and downs, and if life itself is like that, because to think that anything else will be different. I really liked that analysis you did on the percentage when giving a vote, and as you could see the other users, I had not thought about it, but I think you can be right. In these times I have not written less, on the contrary I am in a moment of evolution and I am very excited about this project. The price of Steem I think is more related to the process that cryptocurrency in general. But the platform of Steemit every day is bigger and its quality increases! Excellent, I really congratulate you because you have explained very well all those points that I had not previously thought about. Regards!

What an analogy of Steem with actual life! Both are a roller coaster ..so true!
Pleased to know that you have kept up with your writings. You are right, we all evolve through our own writings. Let's keep evolving further!

Nice thoughts my friend. What I learned from your post is that don't loose hope even when price of steem is falling. Nothing can take place of positive attitude.

Exactly! Times like these test our mettle.

That twerking gif hit me unexpectedly.

People who stick around during times of "crisis" are the ones that end up being the real MVPs. Given how I not only was here when the crisis started but actually started when the crisis came to unfold itself, you can treat this as me shameless padding my own shoulder.

I intend to invest into some Steem myself soon. Prices look deliciously low, might be the chance of a lifetime.

Ha ha ha!
Kudos to you for keeping your spirit up! In fact, padding our own shoulders is the best thing we should do for self-motivation.

I pad my own shoulders all the time. I would say that my shoulders are the most well padded shoulders in shouldertown.

Irrespective of what happens with Steem rate, I'll be here. There is this thing happening in India right now where crypto exchanges can't be used to withdraw funds due to a govt. ban but even with that I am going to be here.

That's what is called optimism and strong faith in the project. Sooner or later, crypto will be ubiquitous in India too; no matter what. I love your commitment and spirit to stick to this platform. More power to you!

You write about an age old concept just like in the stock market. When the market is low is the time to invest and prepare your strategy to capitalize on the growth.

There are many great points in your post that are important for us to remember.

  • When markets are low is the best to invest. Buy low and sell high as they say
  • True believers thrive. Historically the individuals that invested in a business in the beginning during the infant stage, have capitalized when that business exploded.

Great post and beautifully formatted. Thank you for reminding us all of the basic investment stages.

You've really said it all @juliabreheny . Thanks for summing it up for readers😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59