You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's happening with my curation rewards?

in #steem6 years ago

To my mind, @Kevinwong, you are one of the more generous, and discerning curators on this platform. It only seems fair that the time and effort you put into encouraging and supporting others should be better rewarded.

Feel like a ditz or dunce (or whatever the expression is) saying this, but with my head in the clouds, I'm only just beginning to figure out how curation works. All I know, thus far, is that I was told to upvote posts by others after the 30 minute mark, and that the percentage of my self-votes are decreasing over time...

But, what "vests" mean (past sartorial elegance ;) for the life of me, I've yet to figure out! Curation does seem like a noble, almost altruistic, endeavor and perhaps that is why it's not treated as a highly remunerative activity?

Anyhow, what do I know? Frankly, I'm just happy that you're blogging more frequently, so that I can get a chance to chat with you and, through you, learn a little bit more about how this platform operates as well as the crypto-world, in general :)

Cheers, mate!

Sort:  

I'm barely actively curating content these days. Look into @curie, they're a curation group worth supporting! Used to be active in it but we've made it in such a way that it's merit-based and there's no special treatment for founders even. So now the newer, enthusiastic bunch of hardworking curators are getting the pay instead.

Feel like a ditz or dunce (or whatever the expression is) saying this, but with my head in the clouds, I'm only just beginning to figure out how curation works. All I know, thus far, is that I was told to upvote posts by others after the 30 minute mark, and that the percentage of my self-votes are decreasing over time...

If you want more curation rewards, just vote after 30 minutes on posts that are near $0. As for me, I just vote whenever..

But, what "vests" mean (past sartorial elegance ;) for the life of me, I've yet to figure out! Curation does seem like a noble, almost altruistic, endeavor and perhaps that is why it's not treated as a highly remunerative activity?

Vests just mean Steem Power (vested form of Steem). Curation takes time, coz people need to sift through spam to find good content. @curie is the only proper altruistic curation community on the platform https://curiesteem.com, in that it doesn't play middleman to reserve funds for founders and all that sort of nonsense. The rewards are all given to contributors (curators). And yeah, I wish more "whales" support such initiative that keeps curation on new accounts going. Nobody really wants to spend time curating when it's much easier to do selfish voting rings and stuff.

Kevin, actually, I was referring to Curie, whose activities I follow with interest. I thought I read, recently, that you were one of the co-founders
(if I’m not mistaken).

It’s thanks to their curators that I stuck around in the beginning, when the anonymity that I initially sought out proved too daunting...

I realize there are many curators hard at work, behind the scenes at Curie, and assumed you might be one of them.

Thanks, for tip re: timing of votes — I’ll go back to voting whenever 🤓

So, that’s all vests mean? Good to know! I thought it was something far more techy and mysterious 🤖🤪

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67344.10
ETH 3749.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69