You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Open Letter to Bidbot Operators

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I have always been honest and open about this with you. I do see the difference between use and abuse but I have never used them. I get a postpromoter and others upvote sometimes but comes from OTHERS so I take that as a donation or encouragement boost, like last post but comes from people I usually do not know or I am not in close contact and decided to do so. I have never bid on "myself" the same way I do not self vote. And it is not a preaching or judging remark, neither I consider myself better or worse for it. It was my choice to be naive despite the obvious rigging until it became some kind of experiment. So it is kind of a challenge.

But I understand people does out of frustration. I do not know what I will do in the future I can only respond for what I have done so far. Someone told me once if I did not use them I would be always on zero land. Grateful to all the people that has proved otherwise.

Is this an attack to bidbots? No, just a call for proper use. Someone encoutaging me one or boosting a charity or whatever, it could be even considered a proper use.

But if you bidbot yourself you are selfvoting... Is this wrong? I would only do that if I think I have something really very meaningful or important to highlight. I would really consider it an advertisement. But yet again we enter subjective lines.
Why not clearly put "advertised" as "advertised" why do keep in trying to mask it as genuine engagement?

And thanks for whoever has stopped boosting me without me ever asking. I do not think it is the same.

I do not believe in witches hunts one way or the other.
There are issues and holes though that generates community uneveness and yes, should be addressed. I wish it were in our nature a better disposition to proper use and not abuse, but almost every single thing in life

Sort:  

I understand where you are coming from, I really do. However, we can't make decisions for adults, hence why I try to keep my position as neutral as I can.

This does not mean I don't think we could do better, or that we could come up with a proper way of listing promoted posts (the promoted tab is useless) - I'm just saying its not the current reality.

So, I agree with your points. Buying votes is self voting, but I just won't say that is "wrong" because its everyone choice to do so.

As I said in my comment I have not said it has to be "wrong", and on fact they could be used for good things even, just that it has to be saved for something significant. For others, for the community or even why not, to advertise something meaningful to you as a cd release. It is like a at everyone tag.
If you abuse it... Same things happen... It becomes spam
And how do we filter it?

I do not consider myself morally better or worse.

But there are people that use them to.mine promoting hurried 1 picture low quality post. there is a misbehaviour that stained the whole community the same way users uploading copyrighted content stains... There are things that should be at least discussed. It is sadly obvious.

I know it is not in all bots either, honestly dunno much about them. So I am not debating oros and againsts tights or wrongs. Just my choice (so far) and why

I also have genuine talented artist friends that use (not abuse) them because they would not reach otherwise. How could I not understand it? I have been lucky so far, as I say I respond for what I have done not for what I will do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62725.26
ETH 3221.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85