From The Leftovers of Another Painting

This Tiny Painting ..

Was born from the remnants of another. I cropped one of my other works, 'The Dawn Of A New Day'. I didn't like the length of that painting so I cut off a few inches of it. I could't just toss out the scrap piece.. don't know if anyone else does the same thing??. I kept it for a few days then the idea of what I wanted to paint on it, came to me.

A Creation Born From Leftovers ..

'Gloriosa' ~ by BDMiller

IMG_6944.JPG

Inspiration Came From Memories ..

My wife and I had built a small pond in the yard of our first home. We stocked it with fish and plants. It was calming and sublime. Dang, I wish I had one at our current house. Oh well..maybe in the future. We bought some water lilies called Gloriosa. They were a beautiful deep red to a pinkish color. The fish we had loved to pick at them and swim beneath them. Even our dogs enjoyed watching the fish swim in and out of the blooms. So Peaceful. :-) This painting represents my memories of them (on a larger scale).

I Paint A Lot Of Small Stuff ..

And keep telling myself to just go for it. Paint something bigger! I am somewhat scared on how a larger piece will turn out. Will I be able to carry an evenness and consistency throughout the entire work? I've done larger pieces in the past, but not many. I think its time to give it a go. A water Lilly painting of sorts could be cool. What do you think??

The Donner of This Small Piece ..

IMG_6897.JPG

I made the cut just about were the glass is sitting on top of this painting. 4"x6" to be exact. Cut Cut Cutting...

Left With This ..

small guy, so I start roughing in some general ideas of how I want it to look. I am using Colbalt Blue Hue and Forest Green mixed with some Titanium White.

IMG_6930.JPG

It's A simple Piece ..

So I won't go into any great detail here. Literally took me about an hour from start to finish. A little highlighting. A little bit of shading. Popped in a few lilies using a Magenta oil. Some highlights on those.

IMG_6939.JPG

Added A Signature ..

Signature in place!! Just used a bit of the lightened Forest Green for it. I also touched up some of the highlites in order to warm them up, using an Indian Yellow. It did the trick.

IMG_6942.JPG

All Finished ..

It was about 6 months ago now, but I already sealed it up for protection after a few weeks of drying time passed. It is ready for a frame at this point. Still it sits with no frame. lol. My wife said she wanted this one for her office.. Guess I should get on the stick!

Gloriosa_01ex.jpg

----------------------------------------------------------------

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

My other works can be found for sale in my Facebook Shop: https://www.facebook.com/pg/BDMillerGallery/shop

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg
~Logo Art by BDMiller~

;-)

Sort:  

Beautiful art and process article. Already following, resteemed.

Thank You @wstanley226! I appreciate the support. Glad you like it :-)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

very nice piccar, BD Miller ! seeing it in comparison to your hand makes me realize how tiny your canvas is! <3 <3 love the calmness in this picture <3

Thanks! Yes, I miss the calmness of that little pond we had. :-(

It is definitely small. Not the smallest I've painted on..but small none the less.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66