Drawitbetter Contest #18 Entry - WOLF

in #steemartists6 years ago (edited)

Wolf_Thumbnail.jpg

Banner_01-02 (2).png

It's been a while since I took part in a contest. Despite all my tasks, decided to take a little break from work and do a quick sketch for the Draw it better Contest #18 by @sirsensei. It's sunday after all - better to be creative than lazy. ^.^

I haven't painted wolfs for a very long time, so this sketch was a challenge. But I believe it was worth a try.
I'm not entirely sure if only a wolf should be present in the composition or may include other characters, but I really wanted to add some spicy looking chick as a companion... or is the wolf her companion? I'll let you decide. ;)

Border_01 (2).png

Basic Sketch
Wolf_01.jpg

I found this old sketch of a female face I wasn't going to post any time soon (because it was a study for some new character I was developing). She somehow resembled the theme so the decision was made pretty fast. The main idea was to merge the two figures to one another while preserving the dominant position of the wolf.

Border_01 (2).png

Basic Shade
Wolf_02.jpg

Next was adding a main tone on the sketch. That way I know where the shadows would be. For this purpose I create a new layer and a soft brush on 50% opacity.

Border_01 (2).png

Adding Details
Wolf_03.jpg

The illustration will be really crappy if some details are not added. :P
With the same soft brush but very small in size (only 5-7px) chose a bit darker tone and started to define the small fur hairs.

Border_01 (2).png

Adding More Details
Wolf_04.jpg

Whew, that was a lot of fur hairs. But thanks to them, a more realistic effect has been achieved. ;)
Oops, I forgot to finish the second ear...

Border_01 (2).png

Adding Darker Tone
Wolf_05.jpg

The wolf looked rather plain so next step was to add a darker tone for the nose, eyes and ears. Thus, the female figure does not seem to be dominant.
I was about to wrap this up and post it on Steemit but then came up with a sudden idea. One color wasn't that striking so maybe adding a second color would define the characters more.

Border_01 (2).png

Adding A Gray Background
Wolf_06.jpg

Maybe too dark for the sketch but I forgot to paint the highlights on the skin and fur - I was using the white background before.

Border_01 (2).png

Final Sketch
Wolf_08.jpg

And this is the final result. I think now they pop out even more. ^.^
For some reason the gray background did not stand well. That reminded me to use a pattern overlay (Gouache Light on Watercolor) on Soft Light mode. This effect gives a more traditional style to the illustration.

Border_01 (2).png

I hope you like them!
^.^ Have a sunny day, everyone! ^.^
Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Wow, really amazing artwork! 👍

Thank you, @blue-dragon! ^.^ I'm glad you like it!
Decided to do something useful, despite the cold rainy day.

Just beautiful! It takes my breath away. Surely the wolf is her protector. :) You are very talented.

Congratulations on the Curation Votes! I knew you were going to get a Curie one of these days :)

Thank you, @adamada! ^.^
It's a big surprise (I couldn't believe myself this morning).

amazing work!

Hey there

Great work. Loved the detail in this. Your previous artwork is beatiful too. Congrats on the curie upvote!

The Curator

CuratorSealOfApproval.png

This post was upvoted by curie and it's trail as a result of a submission to the guild by @markangeltrueman. Curie is a curation guild which finds and upvotes high-quality posts by new and undiscovered members of the Steem community. View the blog at @curie and visit the website at http://curiesteem.com/

Thank you, @steemsearch! ^.^
I still find it hard to realize what is happening. It was a huge surprise (maybe it's natural, I'm still a small fish here), but also a great honor to be upvoted and resteemed by you!

The fur looks so soft I kinda wanna pet it-
I mean this beautiful! As always your shading is on point

Oh, thank you, @thilah! ^.^
It kinda resembles the puppy from your bday vid gift. ;)

Congratulations @katalinaooma, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 3087 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1925.40. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Wow... :O
That is simply amazing! Thank you for joining in and your great work. Good luck with the contest! :)

Thank you, @sirsensei! Your contest was extremely inspiring to me! ^.^

The pleasure is mine! Make sure to come back next week! :)

Beautiful piccar, katalina <3 I love the expression of the woman, she looks so serious and elegant and prideful and beautiful <3 Gorgeous lighting and tone on her face, as well <3 <3

upvotes

Thank you for the amazing comment, @veryspider! ^.^ <3
I still find it difficult to draw the face from this angle, but think she is proud more because of her cute companion. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23