OC Alagart Sadmore WIP - 01

in #steemartists6 years ago

thumbnails.jpg

Banner_01-02 (2).png

I was so excited to take part in @svdsdragunov's Dlive today that couldn't help myself sharing with you my new project. I finally took some hours just for my personal illustration. This is an old character of mine, but for my shame didn't spend much time developing. His name is Alagart Sadmore and is also part of the Inexplicit project.
I was inspired by a scene my friend drew, you can check her incredible art here:
An awakening of a young dragon
But my version is a bit more... revealing. ^.^

Border_01 (2).png

I started with a basic sketch of the body using an app on my phone called Easy Poser. It's very helpful and easy to navigate. ;)
I placed the figure in the first third of the canvas to imitate dynamics in the scene.
Alagart_03.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Had to do a lot of research of Chinese royal clothes to sketch out my idea. Hope you like it.
Alagart_05.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Later did some basic grid to help me with the perspective.
Alagart_07.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Some basic gradient overlay layers.
Alagart_08.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Decided to add a door to a garden or something. I imagined he was living in some huge mansion. <3
Alagart_09.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

It was high time doing the folds of the clothes.
Alagart_010.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

And my favorite time - adding details...
Alagart_011.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

And more details... woohoo...
I'm also planning to add embroidery on the satin material. Don't know how many hours will have to spend on it tho'. It took me 6 hours on the folds only.
Alagart_012.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Hope you like my progress so far.
Have a great day, everyone!
Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Beautiful man, Katalina ! I love the design of the picture, simple BUT elegant <3 His expression is so lovely as well <3

The step by step is really neat and I like that chinese robe that you chose for him <3

Will wait to see this finished * ___ *

Thank you, Spidey! ^.^ this is my first complex illustration after the presentation and to tell you the truth I was a bit nervous to see if my skills were good as before. XD
I'm a big fan of chinese royal clothes and especially the hand-made embroidery on the satin fabric is gorgeous. Will be lucky if I could even succeed in imitating that effect. whew

I'm sure you will be able to do that, Katalina! You're always so good with smooth and silky fabric and.... patterns <3

Thank you, Spidey! ^.^ You're always so supportive and inspiring! <3
As a little present for you (well, Scrawly had his share :P):
close up_02.jpg

I KNEW IT

you got this, katalina !!!! <3

that is looking supeeeeeeeeeeeeer beautiful <33333333333

Really? Oh, thank you, dear! ^.^ <3 <3 <3
I'm sooo happy right now, I can't fall asleep. XD

I had this pattern for quite some time now. It was done for another project, but the client rejected it. So I kept it, because I was sure it's going to be useful one day. ;)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Looking really good @katalinaooma!! 🎉🎉🎉
I like that room perspective as well 🌹
It's gonna be really good when you finish 💙

Thank you, Melooo! ^.^ I'm so glad you like it!
A friend of mine suggested to use a screenshot of a real 3D scene for better accuracy but I was like "Well, if I can imitate it in Photoshop, I don't need 3D program..." XD

As simple as the image could be , i will say this is superb. The layout and design are wonderful. Thumbs up.
Can't wait to see the finished product

Thank you, @tormiwah! ^.^
Yeah, it looks quite simple now. It still needs a ton of work on the background.

Yes yes, this is certainly relevant to my interest :D!
Very nice wip so far, kat-chan. I'm hoping for more close up details of Alagart when you finish the art :D.

-upvoted-

Thanks, Scrawly! ^.^ I have tons of male characters in the story, but not enough time to show them.

Oh, I forgot to tell that he's a vampire, but a special one - he can walk among humans during the day, can only drink animals blood (if he tries a human blood, that will bond him to this person for life), he's quite old and has a twin brother as gorgeous as he is. ^.^

A close up especially for you ;) I found some really cool skin brushes for Photoshop.
close up.jpg

Yesssss close up for me!!!! <3
A vampire with another gorgeous twin brother...

Yesss, tell me more.

Hehe, glad I got your attention.
Alagart is originally my character, but along the way my friend came up with the idea of a twin brother called Traigart. She also made something like a family portrait of them (Al can transform into a creature with wings, but is twin bro turns into a snow leopard and is sooo fluffy). You can see it here (she's very talented, btw): Stronger Together

That’s a very nice artwork of your friend!
And it’s so cute that you made a great collab together, both contributing to the story and art :). Do you plan together when writing the characters stories or it just happens in an impromptu?

Thank you, Scrawly. ^.^ We spend some time planning the big picture (the whole story), but the details are born when start writing. I don't know if I ever shared this, but we write one paragraph each, one after another alternating. We're so used to this technique that I sometimes forget which paragraph I wrote. XD

Ahhh this is the best! So fun!!! <3

Are you going to publish the story when it's done? Or it's something that you make for personal purpose only?

We created the first book called Inexpricit: Inner Horizons back in 2011 as a diploma project for our Bachelor's degree. But judges weren't very pleased with it and I lost my motivation for publishing the final draft. We still write different stories even today, just for fun tho'. I wish to see it published one day. ^.^

Clothing folds drive me insaaaaaaaaaane! You did such a great job with them Kat :D The black satiny shading is glorious. Nice lighting coming in too :)

Guess they just moved in as the mansion looks a bit spartan? ;D

Progress is awesome so far.

goatsig

Thank you, Ry! ^.^ <3 I'm so glad you like it! ^.^ I think Tac's streaming helps me a lot. XD Hope you didn't listen yesterday, I think my mic's volume was too loud again. XD

Yeah, my character is a loner, he doesn't need a lot of stuff... XD

I haven't been able to get on for the last couple, logistics have been a bit nightmare XD LoL oops! And a bit of a minimalist is he?

goatsig

great art work... it remonds me of Dong Jumong the korean ancient hero... i like how you combination is so striking that really gives life to the character...definitely a high arc talent you have...

Thank you so much, @kendallron! ^.^ Oh, I've heard of him, I think they made TV-series a decade ago. ^.^

yes yes i've watched that

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97