Winners of What Should I Grow Contest

in #steembasicincome6 years ago (edited)

Image from pixabay

Wow, I got a lot of great suggestions. So many, that I didn’t want to pick just 5. I decided to give out 16 shares of steembasicincome instead of 5. The winners and one of their suggestions are listed below.

Cucamelon @nerdi
Yacon @simplymike
Purple pole bean @katysavage
Chamomile @sotall
Sunshine kubucha squash @goldenoakfarm
Sweet potatoes @ssimkins9
Purslane @ligayagardener
Black eyed peas @nateonsteemit
Contender green beans @veckinon
Malabar spinach @quochuy
Aloe vera @thedolphin
Celery @mirella
Golden globe turnip @derekfreeman
Okra @enolderman
Sage @edprivat
Bottle gourds @proto26

I have sent the registrations to @steembasicincome.

Screen Shot 2018-03-13 at 1.51.23 PM.png

Thanks to everyone that entered. I enjoyed reading about these plants and look forward to growing some of them this year.

Sort:  

Awesome. Thank you! And best of luck growing new stuff this year.

Thank you, @aisu :)) I'll get back to you soon with my dad's tips on how to grow celery successfully!

You're welcome. That would be awesome.

Thanks a lot, @aisu! Gardening season is just around the corner, and for those in warmer climates or with greenhouses, may already be starting. I am on the leadership committee for my community garden and we had our first meeting of the season last week. I don't know about you, but I can't wait to get some seeds in the ground. Glad you got so many great growing recommendations!

I am getting very excited, and impatient. I have some seeds started indoors and planted a few cool weather seeds outside last weekend.

@ligayagardener, I noticed you suggested purslane. Purslane grows naturally and vigorously in my region. Many people think that it is weed and pull it not realizing all of its benefits both as a nutritious food and as a companion crop. I love the stuff.

WOW! awesome! Thank you so much. Keep us posted on how your garden turns out. Just a quick note, we will be getting hit with a solar flare starting tomorrow and looks to last a couple of days, great time to get some outdoor work done. Just be sure to wear long sleeves and jeans, UV protection if you have it.

You're welcome. I'll be posting more about gardening as the season picks up.

Thank you very much! German Chamomile is delightful and so healthy. My brother NEVER agree to any type of plant once he knows it is an "herb", (he thinks we are nuts, lol). But he actually accepted some seeds to grow around his house after I showed him what all it is good for, lol. Took me almost 60 years to convince him herbs work!

I'm kind of in the middle on this. Some herbs definitely have amazing medicinal qualities but I wouldn't try to treat serious medical conditions with herbs alone.

That's great, Aisu, thank you! Hope you're having a lot of fun this year growing. And this is a great example of community building, I will keep your idea in mind and follow your example one day!

You're welcome. I can't wait for warmer weather so I can start growing these.

The steemit community is great. I'm happy to give something back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70137.39
ETH 3937.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71