You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Aww the minnow is holding a CONTEST! 💵👀

in #steembasicincome6 years ago (edited)

One pro is UBI reduces poverty and income inequality. This results in increased happiness and improves health. Lets use the Alaska Permanent Fund (AFP) which was created in 1976. This UBI is funded by oil which provides dividends to permanent residents of the state. In 1981, Alaska was ranked 30 out of 50 states on income inequality; by 2015, the state had jumped to number two. Alaska's improvement in income equality is largely attributed to the implementation of its UBI program.

Sort:  

Thanks for this @cryptictruth,
Oh yes I remember reading the Alaska case study awhile back, really interesting stuff. I think that poverty reduction is a good thing all around but income inequality, at least where I've lived, imo is generally the result of different choices people make.

For example in another post I made, I mentioned that I grew up very poor, and even though it took me a very long time, I struggled my way out of it through education, business, taking risks, etc.

I don't expect that someone who hasn't done those things should have an equal income.
Nor did I expect income equality for myself without doing what I needed to do to change my situation.

Or do I have it all wrong? Maybe something I'm not seeing?

I agree, personal responsibility is a large part of making UBI successful. If people don’t use the resources they are given appropriately they will not change their situation. I think this factor is a major con to UBI. People can’t be trusted to not take advantage of the system.

True, maybe crypto like @steem or @mannacurrency without central control like
@josephsavage said may well be a step in the right direction when considering design/implementation

I’m a huge supporter of decentralization from government backed programs. I definitely think cryptos are the first step in the right direction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97