The Moments That Encouraged Me to Stay on Steemit and Write Better Content

in #steembasicincome6 years ago (edited)

When Little Moments are Big Events

Part of a Contest sponsored by @malloryblythe. She is generously donating AT LEAST 24 SBD worth of #steembasicincome shares in honor of @curie and @newbieresteemday. Be sure to enter this Contest!


pexels-photo-261662.jpeg
Image - Pexels CC0 License

Newbie Syndrome

Like many new people on Steemit, after a few weeks I was beginning to feel a little frustrated and hopeless (I really didn’t understand how Steemit worked). I wasn’t prepared for the dead silence that met my posts.

Looking back, I can see that many of my earliest posts lacked either proper attribution for images, or were simply ‘low effort’, in terms of length and quality. I was determined to up my game and become a better writer / poster. Still, not much response. The hopelessness started to creep back in.

And Then...

Then, just 8 days ago, one of my posts seemed to attract some modest attention. It was a post on Bamboo, a plant I really love for its many qualities. This single post received more upvotes and more comments than all my other previous posts combined, thanks due to @minnowsupport, @newbieresteemday, and @freedomshift, who put me in for the #payitforward initiative. Thank you!

The second thing happened 2 days ago, when I was one of the winners in the #steemitcommentchallenge contest, put forward by @danielsaori (STEEM Witness), and sponsored with SBD awards by @hitmeasap.

I won an SBD prize, and was delegated some Steempower. I am very grateful for this, as before my upvotes for others had virtually no value, but now I can support other plankton and minnows with a vote that will actually help them. Thank you all the people involved in this contest and others like it!

What Does it Mean?

To others who have been on the platform longer, and are big fish, dolphins or whales, these might seem like small, inconsequential events. But for me as a plankton, they were big events, in terms of boosting my morale, giving hope, and encouraging me to write better quality posts, and to reach out to others with comments and upvotes that will be helpful.

There are many people and communities on Steemit working hard to share the love and contribute to others. The people / communities I mentioned are such, and there are others.

Before my focus was on trying to get attention and make some money (short-sighted and naïve). Now, it is on writing good content, and trying to connect with people and support communities. This is the future of Steemit, at least for me.

Sort:  

Just gotta keep putting one foot in front of the other. One day at a time.

That is for sure!

Sounds like we're on the same boat; rowing forward in the hopes we don't capsize. Thanks for the post.

Welcome, and I also checked out your post.

It all starts from one random act of kindness. Glad you hung around! Keep on keepin on!

I just added to the server of @newbieresteemday I'm getting to know it thanks to @malloryblythe Anduve also lost the first weeks, but I knew that I was only adjusting to the dynamics of Steemit. I have two months on the platform, and I still feel that I have to learn a lot more, that I'm still in diapers

And it was through your Dreams that you got me. I got here through the contest of mallory. That contest by danielsaori is really awesome! which reminds me to join again. I don't know why I keep forgetting to visit lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71