You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Winners! And a new contest!

I hope you have a nice comfy sofa because you're basically becoming my psycho-analyst now. I kind of remember the story of Saul/Paul from my days in Catholic school. I even portrayed him in a play before the whole school and parents in about 5th grade. I usually got the leads in most of the the plays we had. By eighth grade they thought I wanted to become a priest, but that's a story for another time. After reading your three posts and some of the more relevant comments, the part that stuck out to me the most is not from the scripture but this:

Holding a grudge keeps you a captive to your past. When you do not forgive, your past and whatever hurt you will rule over you. The longer you hold on the stronger the past's hold on you will become.

The reason it really struck me was because I feel like I have been able to forgive and forget the past but it's not always easy. The person or persons that you feel wronged by are often the closest to you and although you were able to move past whatever slight from the past, they can easily open old wounds with a word or action. Does that mean you have truly forgiven them?

I know I need to work on living every day to it's fullest but I can't imagine living to the age of 200. I've had a good life but that sounds exhausting. Peace to you my friend and thanks for making me contemplate another 150 years. (Sarcasm implied here 😉)

Sort:  

Thank you @the-witty-waiter. Love your participation in this.

Forgiveness and letting go is not an easy thing. As a result, you will meet very few people who are able to do it. Well done for being on the journey. It gets easier as you persevere and then the day arrives when the old wound cannot be opened again and the person who hurt you have no power to do so again.

The freedom you gain makes the hard work worth it.

I've tried over the years but the person I'm having the hardest time with often does and says things that I disagree with and it's the same person with whom I am closest in my life. Catch 22

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67138.06
ETH 3678.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73