You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Selling Selenia Sky For 12 Steem!

in #steembay6 years ago (edited)

I'm seeing a lot of this, auctions that are not ended properly. And then, Auctons that are ended after a bid is accepted; the "Seller" contacting the "Buyer" and offering a higher price. Classic Bait and Switch behavior. See Fraud.

I'm writing an article now and doing basic research on Steembay. Right now it points to - "An unethical Farce."-
Any comments . . . any improvements. anybody I should talk to?

Sort:  

If people abuse a system, then you can report them to the steemcleaners. As everything is on the blockchain, you even could consider a sale via steembay a "legal" contract. So people obviously cheating will hurt their reputation a lot. Probably you can't call "the police" for they won't find them. If you have further questions, you can contact me on discord.

My name there is Pollux#3889

btw.
Ending an auction after the first bid is the way to do "Buy-it now". The proper way this should be done is by announcing that price in the description beforehand.

Personally I would not trade with the kind of people you described. I would block them and ignore them. That is the only way to deal with this kind of people on the blockchain.

I think that some kind of notice should be agreed to on Ethics should be posted. It seems that Sellers do not understand what being in an auction means.

That is sadly very true. I've worked in the auction business for about 10 years and I wasn't really prepared for people with an attention span of a goldfish. There are a lot of updates to come and we are trying to failproof the system as much as we can. What we can't handle is people behaving unethical.
The next upcoming step is to make the overview of all auctions better, of which we just finished the last part of testing.
At a point we will install a way to safe trade via personal or digital escrow. Before steemmonsters this wasn't needed, now it apparently is.

I set my auction for 24hrs...I stated it was only 24 hrs in the title. But maybe an option to set the length of the auction would be handy?
if people were viewing multiple auctions they may skim over the 24hr warning.

This is a good idea, which we are testing since several months with very different approaches. It is kind of hard putting timeframes into a blockchain, the way we designed steembay. I hope we get it working to implement shorter termed auctions soon. Thx for your suggestion.

Thanks for the service, I've already made a purchase using steembay, I also held an auction and sold 2 cards through steembay... Admittedly I didn't want to sell them, I want to grow my collection in preparation for battle, But the temptation to enter your competition got the better of me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77