Rainy day blues

in #steembloggers6 years ago

As I got up to start my daily activities, all I could hear was the crackling sounds made from the rain pounding on the windows, I prepared my bath water and straighten up the bedroom while the tub was filling up, I wanted to have time to relax in a hot tub of water. When I finished my bathing and dental hygiene, I ventured down into the kitchen and went into the kitchen cabinet to pull out my amazing pressure cooker, my son n law had been asking me to make him some chicken noodles soup, so I decided to surprise him today, while everyone was asleep last night I took a pack of chicken thighs out of the freezer then a quick defrost in the microwave, I went on to prepare the vegetables I would be using, my carrots, celery, garlic and onion. after dicing everything up, I went into the upper cabinet to bring out the spices I will be needing, grab a bag of noodles out of the cabinet ( egg noodles) and placed those items on the cabinet. So today after grabbing the pressure cooker and placing it on the stove, I put 3 tablespoon of olive oil in the pot to somewhat seer the chicken thighs then the vegetables, then I placed the meat back in the pot adding 2 cups of low sodium chicken broth and seasoning I was able to put the lid on and let the magic work. 27 minutes later the crockpot was whistling. I removed it from the isle and turn the stove off and waited for it to cool down enough for me to open. While waiting for that, I decided to go work out in the basement for 20 minutes although it only ended up being 7 minutes, I was wore out using those weights, I looked at the time it was 12:33 pm, so I laid down on the basement couch for 17 minutes, then I went back into the kitchen to wash my hands diced up the chicken thighs and put them back into the pot adding the noodles while that was cooking I set the coffee pot up got his place setting together, grab some ritz crackers, a bottle of water and open up a can of slice peaches, after setting everything up on the serving tray and taking my son n law lunch up to him, I heard him moaning and groaning, so when I went into his room he was sitting in his chair with his leg elevated about to take some medication, I had to stop him and tell him to eat something first before he mess up the lining to his stomach, I could see he was happy with what was prepared for him since he told me he wanted the same thing for dinner. When I make soup it's always with chunky meats and vegetables. After leaving him to eat his lunch, I went back down into the kitchen and grab three freezer bowls out of the cabinet so that he would have 3 servings in the freezer whenever he wanted some more, transfer the rest into a sauce pan with lid for later. After cleaning up the kitchen and putting everything up, I went upstairs to grab his dishes placing things onto the tray, I smile because he ate everything, he never ate all of his meals before since he's been injured and he was in the bed, I was really surprised, so now I know what to do, for now on, the night before, I will ask him what he want to eat, his wife does the cooking for him on the weekend, and when I told him that he also had three containers in the freezer, he was happy. I don't have to cook tonight because he's eating the same thing for dinner, my daughter and I have leftovers and my brother said he's grabbing a pizza, so that's good, more time for me to click ads and claim coins.

Sort:  

It's always good to be close to your in-laws.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97