New Orleans Style Barbecue Shrimp

in #steemblopomo5 years ago

New Orleans Style Barbecue Shrimp

Plate_2.jpg

Several years ago I attended a conference for work in New Orleans. My wife joined me and we decided to stay somewhere away from the French Quarter crowds and picked a B&B named the Dive Inn. The Inn featured a large indoor swimming pool and the owners had a pair of Black Labs who mingled freely with the guests. We were within walking distance to Charles Street where you could hop on a streetcar for a short ride downtown to the Quarter.

Across the street from the Inn was the famous restaurant Pascal's Manale. It's a popular spot for not only locals, but also politicians, sports figures and gangsters. The original owner of the restaurant was named Frank Manale. People then just referred to the restaurant a Manale's. When Frank died his nephew Pascal took over the business. Pascal named the restaurant Pancal's Manale in order to keep the memory of his uncle.

The folks at the Inn recommended that we try Pascal's and that the barbecue shrimp was the meal to have. The large jumbo shrimp are served in a bowl heads-on in a buttery, peppery, spicy sauce. They are cooked in the sauce and not grilled and accompanied with lots a crusty French bread for dipping. This is definitely a meal that makes your taste buds dance and one that you won't forget.

Sheila and I are staying in coastal Georgia for a week. This is shrimp country! Local fishermen bring in shrimp to market daily. Nothing better than seafood fresh off the boat. I had hoped to get some head-on, but apparently, the fishermen can get more money if they remove the heads, so headless is all that's available.

So here's my version of New Orleans Barbecue Shrimp

The dry spices

black pepper
sweet paprika
basil
oregano
thyme
garlic powder
hot smoked paprika
salt

The wet stuff

olive oil
white wine
worcestershire sauce

And some butter

Here's how you do it

Mix the dry stuff together in a large mixing bowl

Spices.jpg

Rinse the shrimp (I used a pound and a half)

Shrimp_1.jpg

Pat the shrimp dry

Shrimp_2.jpg

Add the shrimp to the mixing bowl and coat with the spices

Shrimp_3.jpg

Add the wet stuff and stir

Shrimp_4.jpg

Melt the butter in a large pan or skillet

Butter.jpg

Add the shrimp to the pan

Shrimp_5.jpg

Cook on high for about 10 minutes. Don't over-cook!

Shrimp_6.jpg

Plate it up and serve with lots of crusty French bread.

Plate_1.jpg

Plate_3.jpg

This is my entry in #SteemBloPoMo challenge by our friend @traciyork


Div_1.png

All photos, images and text in my posts are my original work.

Please visit my galleries for prints and products
of my photos and artwork on the following sites:

Society6
Fine Art America

Follow me on Facebook
and on WEKU

Enjoy!

Roger


Div_2_Paws.png

PHC-Footer-05.gif









Asapers.gif

Sort:  

I'm in shrimp heaven looking at those photos. I think I'll go for shrimp today,
yum.

Thank you! Enjoy your shrimp!

Looks tasty! It’s hard to find good seafood, so we don’t cook shrimps at home))

Thank you! Shrimp are pretty easy to make. Too bad you can't find then where you are!

This shrimp dish looks so savory :) I'm gonna make this! lol

My family loves shrimp and I have been searching for a good recipe. This is a great addition my friend. Will give it a try next week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62120.17
ETH 3179.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75