A Steemit Brochure Created By Us! Competition #1 - DESIGN A FRONT COVER - 10-STEEM PRIZE!!!

in #steemcamp-uk5 years ago (edited)

I can't hold this off any longer and it seems that now is as good a time as any. So let's get this show on the road!

My initial plan was to wait until we had the virtual meet-up on MSP-Waves radio to put the feelers out there and create a bit of a buzz before announcing the first competition. As it turned out, the show was unfortunately canceled and then rescheduled for this week. Therefore, I have decided to jump the gun a little and begin proceedings. I will still be joining in with the rescheduled radio show, but as I may be a little late I thought it would be better if I posted the first competition before the show, instead of after it. This way, if for some reason I can't make it, @pennsif can still offer up this post for those who are in attendance.

So, on with the show and let's take a look at competition #1.

DESIGN ME A FRONT COVER

Screenshot_2018-12-04 brochure templates - Google Search.png

pic source

OK, not much to explain here as the title pretty much says it all. I would like you to create me something eye-catching, of course, and hopefully it will give some clues as to what steemit is all about. So use your imagination and maybe try to put yourself into the shoes of someone who has never heard of cryptocurrencies or steemit, ever.

This is going to be the first thing people see when I hand out the finished article and we all understand how important first impression can be.

I want creativity!

I want artistry!

I want something absolutely irresistable!!

So now it's over to you wonderful Steemians! Go forth and create!!

blog5.jpg

For the winner of this contest, I will be giving 10-STEEM as a reward and you will, of course, be mentioned in the credits at the back of the brochure along with everyone else involved. For those who enter but don't get selected, I will be giving 1-STEEM for your efforts. Sorry I can't give you more than this, I would really like to.

There will be no strict time limit for this competition but I imagine I will be picking a winner in around a months time.

For those of you who aren't artistically talented, like me, there will be plenty more competitions to come. For more details about what's in store, I would suggest that you take a browse through my previous post, via the link below.


Screenshot_2018-12-04 Making a Steemit guide booklet - I want you to be part of this project — Steemit(1).png

And if you have even more spare time for reading, please visit my initial post and find out exactly why this idea has popped out of my head and onto the screen before you.

Screenshot_2018-12-04 I need a little help promoting steemit — Steemit.png

Before I go, I would like to invite you all to come along to the Virtual meet-up being held on Thursday 6th December.

Screenshot_2018-12-04 Making a Steemit guide booklet - I want you to be part of this project — Steemit(2).png

bannerart.jpg

Screenshot_2018-11-24 Crowdmind io.png

Screenshot_2018-11-21 SteemClub-UK list of active UK steemians 21 November 2018 — Steemit.png

OOPS! I almost forgot to mention my raffle!

Screenshot_2018-12-04 Making a Steemit guide booklet - I want you to be part of this project — Steemit(3).png

Sort:  

I want to know what size front cover has to be.

Hi there and thanks for the interest. I will have to get back to you on this as it was something I had overlooked. If you can work around it then please go ahead but if you do need the format to continue then I will take a look tonight and get back to you with measurements.

Sorry for the slow reply. The format is 8.5cm x 11cm
Here is a link to a website I may use to produce them: https://www.psprint.com/design-templates/brochures/br-4267/

Thanks again for the interest :) Look forward to seeing your design.

Thanks. Just one more question. Do I have to make a post of my design and place link in comment section of this post, as these things works on Steemit?

If you want to make a post about it please do, i'll certainly re-steem and upvote it. As for the competition it is by no means something you have to do to enter.

Hi @article61
I have some crazy ideas which could be usefull to you - can you please dm me on discord whenever you have time? cheers

Good luck with this Dan.

I hope you get some really great designs for this.



Thanks bud. I hope so too. I'll try my best to make it along on Thursday evening.

Hey, @article61!

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steemit project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official website or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server. Don't forget to use the #crowdmind hashtag and happy crowdsourcing!

Nice initiative @article61
@hungryhustle - is this something you would be interested in?

Thanks buddy. I really hope it takes off.

Hi there,
I've just upvoted this post
A small contribution from me, to help the steem community to thrive ;)

Thanks, much appreciated :)

Hi @article61, your title mentions the word 'Steemit'. I'm sure you are aware that steemit.com is one of many (and is by no means the most aesthetic) User Interfaces with which to access the Steem Blockchain. There is already much confusion about the perception of steemit.com (and Steemit Inc) as the blockchain itself, when this is not the case.

Am currently listening to the discussion you are having with @pennsif, and you seem to be reconsidering your strategy with this competition anyway. I'd quite strongly suggest changing the emphasis from 'steemit' to something like the 'Steem Blockchain'.

Cheers

Hi @barge. Thanks for the input and I appreciate your points. However, the original way to enter this domain is titled "steemit", as is the sign-up page. I'm aiming this brochure at folk who may have never heard of block-chains or cryptos so I really don't want to frighten folk off with the sound of jargon and crypto-talk. In my previous posts I have mentioned that there will be a competition ran for the best description of steemit and the way it all works. Hopefully, this part of the brochure will address the points you have brought up. As for the front cover and the title I would prefer to keep things simple and the name Steemit fits that bill, imo. As for reconsidering the structure of this project, I have decided to go ahead with the competitions for now. It's still early days yet so i'll see how things go and try to be as flexible as possible.

Thanks again for the input and I hope you'll consider doing a write-up for describing steemit when the time comes.

No worries, it's your comp and how you choose to play it. Respect to that!

For me, it goes against the 'decentralisation' aspect/notion/perception of the Steem blockchain to represent (however well intentioned) steemit (.com or Inc) as the Steem entity itself.

No more to say, but, I'm sure you'll understand, I won't write about 'steemit' :).

Regards.

It's all good mate and if I understood the politics of it all a little better I would probably be thinking likewise. Nevertheless, I hope the end result will bring in new punters and I'm sure most will be wise enough to choose a solid path. It's a shame you won't be offering a write up as it seems you have a good scope on things. Big respect to you too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94