My First Commission : Hajj and Umrah Illustration

in #steemcartoon6 years ago

I think last year was pretty much a good year for my art where I involve in several challenges, I met great people in this field and received a lot of support and tips on how to improve my art. I also got chance to put my drawing in an exhibition in Balai Seni Negara Kuala Lumpur under KLsketchnation and KLBienalle.

So last year, I decided to take commission and doing part-time illustrator for the first time. It is not like that I'm never doing commission, I do take it sometimes but from my close friend usually. So, for my first time, I'm doing illustration for a book. It is quite challenging as I need to finish about 13 illustration in one week. The illustration is for Hajj and Umrah Travel book for a travel agency.

gmbr 3.png

They requested to do like simple cartoon and chibi-like for the illustration. To be honest, doing cartoon is not really my genre. So I'm kinda struggling figuring out how to do it at the first place since I'm not really good at it. But I determined that i can do it and luckily they also provided some guideline.

gmbr 7.png

Because it is quite challenging to do all the illustration in short time plus I'm also a student, so i asked my friend, Faiq Tajol to helped me out. I do the drawing part and he do the coloring part. He also gave me some good tips as this is my first time taking a serious commission. I learned a lot from him.

gmbr 11.png

Alhough the illustrations will be altered back by the designer but still I think it is a great opportunity for me involving myself and improving what i had. It is also a great experiencing too. I am so glad that they happy with the outcome that have been made. Too bad I still didn't have drawing tablet so sometimes it kinda hard for me to accepting commission as I'm lack of tools. So anyone who planning to give me something for my birthday, a basic drawing tablet will be nice. lol.

gmbr 5.png

So for this year, I'm still looking forward to participate in this kind of thing again and taking commission and getting a lot of new friends. It is always an exciting journey. So I think that's all for tonight. If you're interested to see more of my drawing, you can check out and follow my instagram ( @lilfigura ). Thank you for reading :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49