Changes Up Ahead

in #steemchurch5 years ago (edited)

make-that-change-direction.jpg

In the late 1980's I used to be an employee at a retail chain drug store. I had been recently promoted from Manager Trainee to 2nd Assistant Manager; Things were looking up for me. Then, one day I was transferred to a different store. Suddenly things were no longer coming up roses. In fact, it was the beginning of the end of my career there.

The lead assistant saw that I was struggling with my new surroundings. He told me that for some change is good, but for others it can be the kiss of death. Sadly I fell into the latter group.

Change 1.png

Change is Inevitable.

No one really likes change. We prefer the known as opposed to the unknown; even when the situation is less than ideal. The mundane can provide a sense of comfort. The challenge is to embrace the change and the opportunities that it may bring.

Change of Course

Many times I tried to go in a certain direction and found the door closed. Little did I know that God was opening a different door. Often times God leads us by opening and then closing doors. The first door that opens and then subsequently closes can be designed to get us to move in the direction that will lead to His promises.

I have tried numerous career moves since that time. Never in a million years did I think that I would be writing for a living. As I have stated in a prior post, my passion was not writing. My goal is to encourage and empower people. Writing is the avenue that is being used to accomplish that. I had to learn and am still learning how to write. It is an ongoing process. In this new area of change, the two biggest challenges for me are:

  1. The voice in my head saying you are not really helping anybody.
  2. The other obstacle is the notion of “should”
    • By now I should be…
    • By now I should have…
    • I should not have to…

You can fill in the blanks. We all have a sense of “should”. It can hinder us in so many ways. We overcome “should” by accepting our “you are here point'.

keep_moving_forward .jpg

God doesn’t, want us to get stuck It is always about moving forward in Christ. In my past, there were relationships I tried to pursue. I could not understand why they chose the other guy. I now look back and thank God I did not end up with that person. Sometimes our plans don't work out, because God has something better prepared for us.

Don't let past pain, hurts, disappointments and failures stop you from moving forward.

*"For I know the plans I have for you," declares the LORD, "plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11

Meet Striding Stanley

Stanley is the Rise Above It mascot. Stanley knows how hard the race can be. Ever confident, he presses toward the mark. Stanley runs to win.

17.jpg

Please show your support by visiting our website. If you decide to make a purchase use the discount code FANDF to receive 25% off on your orders.

Free shipping on orders of $50.00 or more. Use Code FREESHIP

And yes, we do accept crytpo-currency.

Click the link or visit or website to purchase any of our products.

Sort:  

This post is supported by @tipU upvote :)
@tipU voting service: instant upvotes | For investors.

Sneaky-Ninja-Throwing-Coin 125px.jpg
Defended (7.14%)
Summoned by @artoftherhyme
Sneaky Ninja supports @youarehope and @tarc with a percentage of all bids.
Everything You Need To Know About Sneaky Ninja


woosh

Congratulations @artoftherhyme! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

I am almost in the same situation as you, as I never believed that I can write at all, and started out with some friends and family on steemit, now, I am the only one still writing, and on top of it, I am spreading God's word. God's ways are mysterious to us, but He knows what is the best for us.

Yes, He does. Stay encouraged. You have been a blessing to me and to others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83