SteemChurch - Forgive your brother, even as God forgave you your sins.

in #steemchurch6 years ago

Good day Steemians, Welcome to another wonderful day that the Lord has made. Today I bring to your table the issue of forgiveness

HandsForgiveness_1920x1080.jpg

I recently had a conflict with a friend of mine. He had hurt me badly and I never wanted to talk to him again. I never wanted to see his face in fact. I held a very strong resentment for him for what he had done to me.

While going through my daily bible study today, i stumbled on this passage:

Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.
Ephesians 4: 32

And it struck me real hard because I knew damn right that God was talking directly to me. God forgave us all of our sins. Man disobeyed and disappointed Him immersely when Adam and Eve decided to eat the forbidden fruit. However, inspite all of this, He still sent His only begotten son Jesus to die for us. Imagine how great a sacrifice that was, even for Him. But he did it in order to forgive us and redeem us back to Him.

Redemption-56a148553df78cf772692837.jpg

Jesus told a parable in Matthew 18:21-24:40 about an unmerciful servant
This was in response to a question Peter asked him saying

Lord, how many times shall I forgive my brother or sister who sins against me? Up to seven times?

And Jesus answered him saying

I tell you, not seven times, but seventy-seven times.

Jesus went ahead to tell him a story of a servant who had just been forgiven of a large debt he owed the king, who thereafter leaving the king's presence went his way to beat and lock up his fellow servant that owed him that which was much lesser than what he had just been forgiven of.

rahje-1-620x330.jpg

Many of us are like that wicked servant. We were washed clean by the blood of Jesus which served as payment for the grave iniquities that were all over us. We were forgiven of our very mighty transgressions, yet we fail to be merciful to our fellow servants for the little wrongs they do against us;.

We hold grudges and vow never to forgive those who offended us. But we've forgotten that we lied the three days ago. We forget that we stole last week...

BUT GOD FORGAVE US!

In like manner, brethren forgive your neighbour. Forgive your brother/sister. Again and again and yet again! Even seventy seven (77) times a day isn't enough! Because Jesus did even much more for us.

two_friends_love-wide.jpg

Thanks for reading. I hope you were blessed!

Support @sirknight and @steemchurch, the first ever church of the blockchain!
IMG-20180102-WA0021.jpg

Sort:  

This is a very important topic because vengence had become our daily pursuit and many have developed an unforgiving heart but jesus laid good emphasis on this when he taught us "our lords prayer"showing that for us to be granted forgiveness we must first forgive.

Awesome read! Check out my last post, think it may be something you enjoy.

Only one who forgives shows how he really appreciates God's forgiveness. If we want God's forgiveness, will should forgive freely.

Try to forgive your friend. Not quite long ago I had issues with a friend too. Someone who I took as a brother and helped with several of problems, started insulting me and spreading false information about me. But meditating on the scriptures helped me developed the right disposition of the heart. Freely forgive, as God freely forgives repentant sinners.

I once read we have to forgive to be free. Not for our wrong doers but for our own peace

Forgiveness is necessary to live a stress free life

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71