The Lord - Our Rock and Our Strength

in #steemchurch5 years ago

Text: Psalm 28: 1- 9

Unto thee will I cry, O LORD my rock; be not silent
to me: lest, if thou be silent to me, I become like them
that go down into the pit.
Hear the voice of my supplications, when I cry unto
thee, when I lift up my hands toward thy holy oracle.
Draw me not away with the wicked, and with the
workers of iniquity, which speak peace to their
neighbours, but mischief is in their hearts.
Give them according to their deeds, and according to
the wickedness of their endeavours: give them after the
work of their hands; render to them their desert.
Because they regard not the works of the LORD, nor
the operation of his hands, he shall destroy them, and not
build them up.
Blessed be the LORD, because he hath heard the voice
of my supplications.
The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart
trusted in him, and I am helped: therefore my heart
greatly rejoiceth; and with my song will I praise him.
The LORD is their strength, and he is the saving
strength of his anointed.
Save thy people, and bless thine inheritance: feed them
also, and lift them up for ever.

IMG_20190126_125559.jpg
Source

David is again hovering around the Tabernacle, that old tent, which for years was the centre of worship and praise. Here he would want to seek the beautiful face of God so that his life would be in absolute union with his maker. So enraptured with God, this song declares three great doctrines of faith.

First of all 'the Lord is my light.’ In an age when light at night could only be provided by smouldering wicks, God is seen as light. A light which does not go out nor fades away, which does not dim in the evening but is always an everlasting brilliance.

Secondly 'the Lord is my salvation.’ To receive this gift is to realise that there must be a loss. Loss of dignity, splendour and ultimately the soul. David had no cross to look at, nor was he reminded in bread and wine of the sacrifice of Jesus. But he still knew that in the Lord there Is salvation for living today, but also eternal salvation for ever.

Thirdly 'the Lord is the stronghold of my life.‘ Life is a precious gift that passes all too quickly. The child may long to grow older but the aged see the days pass by all too speedily. Friends and loved ones leave this life and us too fast. There is never sufficient time to say and do all that we wish nor is there enough time to praise our maker.

The Christian cries out for another time to sing God's praises. We want to see God's word opened; to hear the prayers that touch our hearts and to be with those of like faith. Then are we strong and at our bravest. It is then that we see the light of God, feel the power of salvation and can say that the Lord is truly the stronghold of our lives.

Sort:  

Your are absolutely right, the Lord has continue to be our rock of ages. With the power in His name He always strengthing us. Wealth sharing.

Bs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64